We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
110
74
26
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
74
26
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews insight tour overlooking the square silver domes shower enclosure ski town charming hotel town square tour group hotel owner rustic charm room safe plenty to eat stayed here for two nights big room enjoyed our stay fantastic location bell tower
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights from 10-17 of September and we were very impressed.

Cortina has so much style coupled with rustic charm, my wife loved the stylish shops and thought it was even better than Gstaad in Switzerland.

The Ancora Hotel is Owned by Flavia who is in attendance every day keeping her staff up to the mark, and believe me she does it with a vigour, the staff across the board from the room maids, waiters up to Loretta the Reception Manager who deserves a special mention, were each very friendly and helpful.

We stayed on half board, which gave us full access to the menu for the evening meal, not as some of the parties on activity breaks who had a very nice set menu and the quality was exceptional and never short on quantity, probably to much!

The menu was complimented by a wine list which accommodated all pockets so you could enjoy a very nice wine with your meal without feeling you were being ripped off.

We were lucky and had a suite on a corner overlooking the Square backed by a mountain and the pedestrian area again backed by a mountain, which was clean and very tidy.

All in all a very good week, even though the weather was not the best.

In fact Cortina has now moved to my number one spot over the many towns in Switzerland that we have stayed at, pure rugged beauty.

Room tip: If you have the budget go for a suite overlooking the Square.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We were here in summertime, but I could see this would be a great hotel during ski season. Our room was a suite, rooms 110-111. We had a large bedroom and a living room on the side. Both rooms had full couches that were old looking, but comfortable. 2 TVs (that we didn't watch), 2 modern bathrooms (that we did use!). Rooms windows looked out on the main street and gave a good view of town and the countryside, and both had outdoor porches as well.
The morning breakfast was very good, with lots of buffet choices, as well as scrambled eggs,meats, cheeses. We also ate in the hotel dining room for dinner and enjoyed it immensely.
My biggest complaint with the room is that the bathrooms were poorly lit. Unless sunlight was pouring through the window, I struggled to see to put on makeup.

Room tip: Suites are very big and have 2 full bathrooms
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The hotel is old and the room is very small with quaint furniture. The beds were very hard to sleep on and there is no air conditioning only heating available which made it uncomfortable as it was very hot weather during our stay. The lady owner was very "hands on" and liked to be in control of everything going on. The restaurant manager was very charming, gentle and kind and the waiting staff were excellent. The buffet selection was very good with plenty to choose from and the service was excellent. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants.

Room tip: There is no air conditioning only heating. It would be better to travel when the weather is a bit cooler i.e. Spring or Autumn.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Very small room with a very hard bed! Room was filled with quaint old furniture--I prefer
practical useful items in a hotel room--particularly a small one. Was very clean and staff was pleasant. Included breakfast was very good.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sambucca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The service at this hotel was above and beyond. The staff was helpful in helping charge my mobile device when my charger was not working properly. The room was a little warm on the top floor. We opened the windows at night and it cooled down fast. The room was very clean and had two bathrooms. What a treat to make getting ready fast in the morning. We had two beautiful balconies. The food at breakfast was okay, but the service was excellent.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GOAMY2PARADISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews