We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maakanaa Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Planktons Beach(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Boquete Inn(Hulhumale)
US$68
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilu Rest Hotel(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$105
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Tree Hulhuvilla Beach(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Point Inn(Hulhumale)
US$55
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fuana Inn(Hulhumale)
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
126
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper fast internetgreat ownerskind regardstime consumingeggs made to orderhelpful ownersonward travelseaplane transferisland resortexcellent place to stayhome away from homenice bathroomother resortsstayed one nightstayed longerquick checkbaked beans
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Male it's a city that you need to spend a night before go to Maldives Islands Resorts. It's a city under construction and it was very noise from 6 am to 9:30 pm. You need to buy at Walmart plugs for your ears, kind of a wax that works nice. Mr Habbib was super nice! At the airport we called him and he sent a person to pick us up and drop off at his small hotel. Restaurants nearby : one, very poor, with a lot of mosquito, bad fod, but better than nothing. The hotel and all Male is under construction so noise is your music day and night. Mr Habbib even went to talk with the nearby constructions guys buy they kept their schedule. The breakfast was better that I expected. Ladies with friendly smiles and was pretty good. It's a really two stars hotel, but considering the room comfort (AC, bed, pillows, shower) was nice. Next day Mr Habbib took us to the airport. Full service! I recommed for one night. There is nothing to do in Male, a 100% Muslim place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from constructions noise.They work form 6 am to 9:30 pm
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Houston_TxFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Maldives at around 9pm and slept in this hotel for 1 night before moving to a resort. Service offer is perfect, starting from airport pick up and finishing with sea plane transfer.

Hotel is amazingly clean and room was bigger than expected. Breakfast served was fresh and nice - in our opinion better than some other 3/4 star hotels which we visited.

Staff were also very kind and helpful.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mauro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

This place was even better than what is shown in the photographs at the website. Beautiful wood interior and hand made furniture on site fill the comfortable rooms. The owners were so easy to work with in making reservations and after we arrived with directions and suggestions. Breakfast was very good and included, with made to order eggs, local dishes to try, and delicious fruit. Everything was excellent about our stay here! Even the airport transfers were easy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FerndaleHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We stayed at Maakanaa Lodge for a night while waiting for our seaplane transfer the next day.

Pros:
- Transfer is very easy and convenient as the hotel provides car transfers to and from the airport. So we didn't need to make our way via boat to the other hotels in Male.
- Maakanaa Lodge is located in the newer part of town, so whilst there are still quite some construction going on, the rooms and amenities are fairly new
- Best part is the service. Everyone was very helpful from the moment we arrived. In fact, I requested for a birthday cake to be bought for a friend and they helped me get one ready to be served when we checked in. Thank you for that!

Cons:
- As mentioned above, there are constructions going on around the area, so just be a bit careful when walking around at night as not all places are well lit and there are some areas with rubble/uneven side roads to walk on.

Nice place for a quick rest stop when travelling through Male.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018

My husband and I were at this hotel in late January before heading to a resort via domestic flight. Owners were very friendly to us, explained where we could eat out in Hulhumale and even gave us a discount since there was some construction going on beside the hotel (we could not hear any noise in fact).

Rooms are clean and spacious, bigger than they seem in the pictures.

Breakfast is simple but tasty, homemade.

Overall we highly recommend this hotel to people needing a stay in Hulhumale.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleonoraPaulini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews