We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit. Gluten free vegan options very limited.”

Staplehurst Nurseries & Frankie's Farmshop
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Staplehurst
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

We ate at Frankie’s for the first time today.

Small menu but what we had was nice. Breakfasts up to 12noon and roast dinners or roast baps thereafter. Large sizes but we ate most of it. Potatoes were rather large and a bit on the al dente side of life. Very impressed they had a vegan roast with cauliflower cheese (that never happens!) and it was delicious! Only big let down is no gluten free vegan or vegetarian options no had to opt for a plate of veg and potatoes. Not ideal but worth it for the cauliflower cheese. I was impressed all the gravy was gluten free.

The farm shop is a delight and added an extra feature to a lunch out. It would be great if they had a little play area or something for the children.

Please make your vegan option gluten free, so many places fall down here but there is a huge market.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Quest14113000591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2021

Very pleasant staff found us a table all clean order taken was shocked at price of tea for two very week teabags too I had poached eggs and salmon a little cold and muffin needed a bit more toasting but very nice my partner had a small breakfast was really small almost child size lovely flavour but very overpriced

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Uholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2021

Visited here today for the first time, following several recommendations. I was so disappointed. Not a massive choice on menu but settled for Burger and skin on fries!

The burger was barely warm and the Skin on fries were just normal skinny fries and some even a bit soggy. As I do not like normal skinny fries left most of them .

I don’t think I will be returning here in a hurry and wonder why the good recommendation. .

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bazzer216
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Staff seemed like they did not want to be there, order was wrong and it seemed like it was too much to ask for them to put it right.
On leaving, tried to say thank you to the three staff at the door. Not one acknowledged me. Part of the reason for eating out is for the experience. It is lovely when you have nice staff serving you, interacting and smiling. if you don't want to work there don't. Such a shame.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

What a lucky fine... Went crazy shopping in both the shop and garden centre as excellent range of products. Had to recover with coffee and cake in the cafe. Service was excellent and cake HUGE and yummy

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Kris-LondonGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staplehurst Nurseries & Frankie's Farmshop also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to Staplehurst Nurseries & Frankie's Farmshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.