We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Day back for indoors”
Review of The Dog

The Dog
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Ludham
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An olde worlde pub, set close to Ludham Bridge and the river Ant, surrounded by stunning rural views over the countryside. With an adjoining field for 'Happy Campers' we welcome tents, caravans and motor homes, all year round. Basic camping is offered, loos and water only, no showers or electric hook-up, but you get the vista with horses, cows, chickens and windmills across the open marshes in exchange. The pub offers a warm welcome from landlords Lorraine and Geoff and our brilliant staff. We serve local Real Ales, and home-cooked 'pub grub' using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. New for 2016 is a fresh new look, newly fitted commercial kitchen, and new chefs. With a pool table and darts board in the games room, outdoor seating with glorious views, and a welcoming atmosphere inside you will at home immediately. Well behaved children and dogs always welcome, inside and outside.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Probably unfair to judge too much on the first day back. The pub wasn't taking bookings, so it was a first come first serve basis. We had a short wait for a table, but I believe they were understaffed, which is understandable due to the current situation, but only one person was taking the food and drinks orders, which had to be done at the bar. I had the homemade burger which was served hot and a good portion. Slightly undercooked in the middle, but as it was homemade, I felt this was ok. My wife had the vegetarian chilli, which was not as good as the burger. They were serving many tables with the chilli, so perhaps the meat version was better. The waiter was starting his first shift as a new member and did extremely well. Not easy to start in these circumstances. The pub was very busy and I am sure as the season progresses, they will be much more organised.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank martyn_bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We arrived for Lunch, ordered and waited. And waited. Our drinks arrived. After an hour we enquired where our food had got to, to be told that we hadn't ordered and anyway what we has ordered was sold out. Bizarrely food that arrived at other tables was served in non recyclable polystyrene boxes.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank paul_h0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Went for evening meal staff lovely friendly and helpful meal ok nothing to write home about took our westie with us unfortunately he ended up covered in tar which was underneath the chips where we sat he has tar still stuck to his skin and his hair if you have a dog avoid

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

I am truly sorry to hear about your dog. We had the whole outdoor seating and car park overhauled this year whilst closed due to Covid-19. We recognised very early on after re-opening that there could be an issue with the tar not having time to 'settle in', as works were completed early April.
In response, we purchased a number of waterproof dog beds, which are freely available to all dog owners and clearly signed. Our staff all offer beds to owners when they take orders, it is then up to the dog owners to use them or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

We arrived w/c 12th April just after the Covid restrictions had been lifted. They had a new till and all new staff and so the service was slow and our drink order did go missing but we were on holiday, the sun was shining and they (the staff) knew that they would need to do better as the season goes on. Having said that the food was simple pub stuff, fish and chips with mushy peas and scampi and chips and tasted great. The Aspinals and St Miguel were delicious, thanks

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolhaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2021

We strolled over the bridge to find the Dog on the other side. It had ample outdoor tables and was covid friendly. We just stopped for lunch, and our order did go slightly astray, but as soon as we enquired if there was a problem, the issue was dealt with in a very amicable, and professional manner. And when delivered, the food was fresh and tasty. The pub offers a good menu, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We would definitely visit again next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog also viewed

 

Been to The Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.