We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kayaking ever!”
Review of R&R Kayaks

R&R Kayaks
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Marahau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a genuine small family owned and operated sea kayaking company in the Abel Tasman National Park. We offer half day - multi day guided tours and kayak rentals. R&R Kayaks is located in Marahau, the gateway to the famous Abel Tasman.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Took a kayaking + trek tour and water taxi tour with R&R and loved every single part of it!
We kayaked first and then walked. The kayaking was amazing, our guide was super friendly and explained many things about the park, the animals and plans in it and history of the area.
We got very close to the seals colony so could see them perfectly! We even got in a natural tunnel!

The trek part is on your own so you can walk at your own path.

Everything was perfectly organised and we could even have a hot shower when we finished the tour!

Kayaking in the Abel Tasman National Park is a must do!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank estelmandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan-RRKayaks, Owner at R&R Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Estel,
Thank you so much for coming out kayaking with us. Great to hear that you loved that tour and all the extras that we offer back at our base facility.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers
Rohan :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot shower"
in 7 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 11 reviews
"water taxi"
in 20 reviews
"creme de la creme"
in 5 reviews
"free wifi"
in 5 reviews
"abel tasman"
in 49 reviews
"national park"
in 14 reviews
"half day tour"
in 6 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 8 reviews
"great equipment"
in 3 reviews
"paradise islands"
in 3 reviews
"weather forecast"
in 2 reviews
"saw seals"
in 8 reviews
"adele island"
in 10 reviews
"bark bay"
in 11 reviews
"fur seals"
in 8 reviews
"his team"
in 4 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Just spent an amazing day on a kayak trip from Bark Bay to Anchorage Bay with R&R. Great equipment, fantastic guide. Loved every minute.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank R5479MBmarting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan-RRKayaks, Owner at R&R Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Martin,
Thank you very much for coming out kayaking with us and for taking the time to write a review about yoru experience. Great to hear that you loved every minute of it.
Hope to see you gain in the future.
Cheers
Rohan :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We did the half day Tonga Seal trip in early March. We chose this trip both for the advertised activities, and also because we like dealing with small, family-run companies. We found the staff to be warm, friendly and informative. They also fully addressed a specific concern that we had regarding our trip. We both feel this is one of the real strengths of dealing with a small company. They know exactly what is happening and can respond quickly and efficiently to all customer service inquiries and concerns. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank twinster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan-RRKayaks, Owner at R&R Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi there,
Thank you for choosing to come out kayaking with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay int he Abel Tasman area and it is great to hear that we looked after you.
Regards
Rohan :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable afternoon sea kayaking with these guys. Taken by Water Taxi ( initially towed by a tractor on a trailer) then into deep water where it sped us to a beach. We were given all the equipment and help we needed by our guide. He was a ‘local’ so had great knowledge of the area, sea and wildlife. We kayaked as a group, all well looked after.
Recommended even for ‘novice or nervous’ would be kayakers.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Coastal534209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan-RRKayaks, Owner at R&R Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to come kayaking with us. Great to hear you enjoyed the experience and we hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers
Rohan :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We had a great time. We were water taxied from land to the water and up the coast to a lovely cove where we met Lucas. He gave us a briefing and kitted us out, then we were on the water. We kayaked across to a couple of islands and were lucky enough to see seals and plenty of birds. Lucas was very helpful and informative. We had a short stop where my friend took the opportunity to swim and then we headed back to the beach. It was an interesting experience coming in through the surf, there was plenty of help on hand to make sure it all worked ok. Back at base there were the added extras of a shower and free WiFi. But what was even better to me was the help I had having locked the car keys in the boot. A difficult problem was sorted within half an hour, Rohan's local knowledge and determination made sure we had a happy ending. Thanks to all concerned for a memorable afternoon.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank RachaelB1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan-RRKayaks, Owner at R&R Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Rachael,
Thank you very much for coming out kayaking with us and great to hear to you enjoyed the tour and your guide Lucas. And we were more than happy to help with the car on your return.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers
Rohan :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R&R Kayaks also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to R&R Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing