We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$192
View deal
Expedia.com
$258
View deal
Hotels.com
$258
View deal
Official Site$274
Priceline$213
Travelocity$258
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
349
65
42
15
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
349
65
42
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar courtyard restaurant amazing hotel teething problems luxury hotel original features paranormal tour impressive building stand alone bath underfloor heating main restaurant unique place to stay nespresso machine high standard every member of staff one night stay breakfast room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 494 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2022 via mobile

The whole experience was fantastic from the start to the end. Worth every penny!! From checking in, the food, the tour, the room and above all the staff who made us feel welcome. The first glimpse of the interior of the hotel and the rooms just blew mine and my wife’s mind out of the water. The attention to detail was excellent. The tour was immaculate, very interesting and informative of the past times of the jail. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, all going above and beyond. The food in the chapel was exquisite for the evening and breakfast. Overall, a definition of amazing. If you haven’t been here then you need to go… you will not be disappointed!!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2022 via mobile

Fantastic place! A good mix of an historic Cornish building with a modern twist! it’s rare in an hotel to not have noise pollution from traffic,adjoining rooms or drunks,but it was so quiet we slept till 9.45! Didn’t eat at the jail restaurant but went to the weavers which was a mistake.hope to stay again,and will definitely do the 3 nights for the price of 2.*****

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank J9948AGianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 19, 2022

I took my adult son with me for an overnight stay whilst in Cornwall, it was fantastic. We booked the Heritage guided tour so that we could fully appreciate all that the jail had once been and we were not disappointed. Loads of interesting information.
The hotel itself is made of rooms which were once 3 cells and it felt luxurious and well done. We ate in the Courtyard restaurant and the food was delicious. Breakfast was leisurely and had everything we wanted. All staff courteous throughout the visit. I didn't take a dog on this occasion but would definitely be happy to take our dog as they seemed very welcome. Overall, couldn't fault it.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 19, 2022

Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting building. Nice rooms with lovely bathrooms, walk in shower etc. Rooms very warm no need for heating. Excellent breakfast, good choice, cooked and also buffet options. Disable parking bays.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Sirba, General Manager at The Bodmin Jail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2022

Dear David C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Anna Sirba
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2022

A beautiful dog friendly hotel with such lovely staff. A perfect short break, the room was fabulous and also having a dog friendly restaurant was a bonus. The jail tour was excellent and worth a visit. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank V5626XSnicolaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Sirba, General Manager at The Bodmin Jail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2022

Dear V5626XSnicolaf,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Anna Sirba
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews