We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$249
View deal
Priceline$249
Official Site$272
Agoda.com$248
FindHotel$248
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
204
38
32
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
204
38
32
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar teething problems amazing hotel original features stand alone bath main restaurant underfloor heating paranormal tour included dinner third floor subdued lighting rooms are amazing stylish hotel every single member of staff great knowledge answered all our questions four star
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 308 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2022

A totally unique experience which nothing else compares to! Far from a castle or country house hotel, it is a converted jail and with it the ambience reflects it character.

The staff were highly attentive and professional in particular Stuart at front of house who took the time to show us and explain much of the hotels features and history.

The bed was comfortable but the pillows too soft, a good selection of Cornish Tea and coffee but dissapointed there were no biscuits to nibble on.

The rooms are considerably quieter than most hotels and are very well equipped with the room temperature easy to control.

Breakfast was wholesome and tasty but in respect of the 'Hangman Tavern', there is nothing positive I can say other than the staff tried their best with what little they had!! Steven who was serving for two of the evenings we were there appeared embarrassed having to tell clients that much of the evenings offerings 'had run out', including wine, whipped cream for the luxury hot chocolates and mussels and even milk!! just to name a few.

Had we left the Hangman Tavern out of our summing up I would rate this hotel much higher.

The Senior Management Team need to decide on their target market. They want to provide a high end experience but at the same time provide cafe style dining in a a characterless environment for those guest not choosing the a la cart dining.

Three nights is plentiful here however, a lounge and bar area are seriously lacking both of which you would expect in most hotels regardless of the price you pay.

Definitely worth going just for the experience and although they intend to introduce a Spa and Swimming pool; at this stage I cannot see ourselves returning unless they can at least address the basic expectations.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2021

This really is a unique hotel and we were so excited to take our daughter for her 16th birthday. Even though we had spoken to a member of staff on the phone multiple times and booked a wheelchair accessible room when we arrived we found there were five steps to the restaurant and champagne bar, and we could not access them. The website advertises accessible rooms but doesn't say you can't get to the rest of the hotel. I will be taking this is up with the hotel management as well as disability organisations as this is just not good enough! Disabled people pay the same but get a rubbish deal.

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank marywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2021

I was flummoxed about what to do for Christmas this year under a dark cloud of another Covid Christmas. What an absolute gem in every way Bodmin Jail Hotel turned out to be!
From the start I was impressed by the communications with Hayley on reception. After booking online I was called to confirm dining times, tickets booked / then changed, everything was handled so efficiently.
We all enjoyed the intrigue and history of staying in a restored prison, the superb job turning former cells into luxurious rooms. The use of the chapel for a restaurant and how the detailed lighting changed it from a breakfast room to an intimate dining area in the evening is outstanding, the champagne bar was relaxing and cosy with a good choice of drinks - great wine list too.

Everywhere the attention to detail is first class and the every single member of staff so very welcoming and friendly.
We had two rooms on the top floor, Housekeeping was very good and by the way this is the first time I've ever stayed in a hotel room that has better pillows that those at home!

Nicely equipped gym and also right on the 'Camel Trail' which is a lovely walk along a former trainline.
*I highly recommend the Bodmin Jail tour.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2021

Having family from overseas visiting we looked for breakfast today - 27/12/21. Called the hotel and Stuart was incredible. No problem to seat 9 for breakfast with half an hours notice. On arrival he showed us round the new hotel and into the rooms. Then we had the most amazing breakfast. Brilliant service and scrumptious food. We will definitely be back there.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallyeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Davidge, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bodmin Jail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2021

Dear Sallyeke

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am so happy you enjoyed your breakfast with your family here at the Bodmin Jail Hotel.
I will also make sure to pass on your comments to Stuart.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Kathryn
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2021 via mobile

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere! Could not fault the whole evening, what a treat. Our food was amazing, just the right amount and tasted so good. We are in the Champagne bar which was cosy and intimate with a lovely fire and attentive service from the waitress and bar staff. Really was impressed with the whole experience and will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Davidge, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bodmin Jail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2021

Dear Summergirl300

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and I will make sure I pass on your comments to the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bodmin Jail Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kathryn
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews