We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
October visit

Well worth a visit, won’t spoil the surprise but great interactive and modern presentation. If you... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Cheltenhamvisitor
,
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
via mobile
We'll be back

Great tour, with an immersive start. Our tour guide was knowledge and engaging, she definitely made... read more

Reviewed yesterday
CupcakeKat85
,
Wallasey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 588 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bodmin
from US$423.73
More Info
from US$489.59
More Info
from US$977.78
More Info
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
377
71
58
33
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
71
58
33
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dark walk special effects visual effects immersive experience onsite restaurant cornish history cell blocks former inmates world class attraction local news facts and figures modern technology gift shop original cells interesting info friendly and welcoming staff great family activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

We found the guided tour at bodmin jail brilliant. Very informative and Jess our guide made the history come to life. Would recommend!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodminJailAttraction, Office Administrator at Bodmin Jail Attraction, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2021

Thank you for your 5-star review, Hayley. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Guided Tour. I shall pass on your kind feedback to Jess.
Kind regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

The whole experience is really well planned and tells the fascinating history of this once grim jail- the journey through is narrated by a hologram Prison officer.
We thought it was great value for money.
Please think carefully about taking small children ! There was a child in our group who was obviously scared as it is mostly quite dark.
Parking was not an issue in the car park closeby.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank S5995EJjanicej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodminJailAttraction, Office Administrator at Bodmin Jail Attraction, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2021

Thank you for your great feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience at Bodmin Jail.
Yes, we do advise on our website that entry is ages 8+ as it can be frightening for young children with the loud bangs, flashing lights and dark areas.
Than you for visiting Bodmin Jail.
Kind regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

For all of you parking at Berrycoombe Vale Car Park (the one next to the jail and directly opposite the new Hotel) not to be confused with Berrycombe Road Car Park which is slightly further away. We used this car park in August. Please note that we paid the FULL £4.50 and stayed under 3 hours and this correct tariff and were still sent a Parking Charge Notice. I have been advised that there are numerous complaints during a particular week in August. One concerning problem is that the notice was received nearly 17 days after our visit. We were extremely lucky we found our ticket advising we had paid the full amount. Shame on Bodmin Jail who advertise this car park on their website and are associated with this car park. I am really concerned that other people have wrongly been fined and have been forced to pay the unscrupulous company Parking Eye for their error. I STRONGLY ADVISE ANYONE WHO HAS RECEIVED A NOTICE TO APPEAL AS THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS DURING THE AUGUST PERIOD. I STRONGLY ADVISE ANY VISITORS TO AVOID THIS CAR PARK THERE IS A 3 HOUR LIMIT - MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN CAUGHT OUT. Many complaints online about this. Be aware this is the new car park opposite the new Bodmin Jail Hotel Complex, not to be confused with the older car park on Berrycoombe Road which is much smaller.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank trippymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

Very informative and interesting place to visit. Lots of interactions and value for money. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank sarahcD7445FE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodminJailAttraction, Office Administrator at Bodmin Jail Attraction, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Thank you for your visit and your 5-star review, Sarah! We are very pleased to read your positive feedback.
Kind regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021

Be aware that if you over shoot the car park you will get a Parking eye charge of £100. Big deal it it reduced to £60 if paid with-in 14 days.

I could understand if this charge was aimed at people who miss-use the carpark to visit else where in the town, but in this instance we were customers visiting the jail.

A total rip off and a scam.... We will NOT be visiting again

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank royaO4312LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews