We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$143
Expedia.comUS$143
PricelineUS$115
Trip.comUS$143
CheapTicketsUS$143
TravelocityUS$143
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
327
416
297
159
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
327
416
297
159
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviews robert burns one way system the hotel car park shopping centre buffet breakfast high tea christmas party night steak pie sat nav twin room stayed here for one night haggis harold castle thistle scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021

This is a wonderful historic hotel in the centre of Stirling. Ideal for walking round the city. This was the 5th time we have stayed there as staff are very friendly and helpful. We were given an upgrade on our room because it was not full. Rooms are a little dated due to the age of the property but very clean. Staff can not do enough to help and make it definitely worth a stay. Excellent COVID controls in place and lots of sanitizer in place
The car park is round the back of the property and a little scruffy but not a problem even for someone like myself who has walking difficulties

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elainedalgleish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

I cannot fault the Hotel,staff & food. Although my en-suite room which was upgraded from single to double as they weren’t busy after covid restrictions were eased had no WiFi I just used to sit in the bar which had WiFi (any excuse). The food is to die for, delicious & well presented, Cronies is the restaurant inside the hotel.The staff were friendly & very helpful recommending places to visit.would certainly come back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yorkshirerose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Car park was like a bomb site , entrance through car park dirty , order breakfast the night before , no food after 8 pm and no WiFi in bedroom. Receptionist was very helpful and deserves better hopefully they will give my 2 day stay money I paid on arrival to charity as I asked

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank stuartm169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

I stayed in Stirling for years and during this time I had family visiting me often. I always booked the Golden Lion hotel for their stays as they actually enjoyed staying there. The last time we stayed my mum bought a few bottles of expensive hairspray and left them in the room while being out. Surprise surprise they disappeared. I went to reception to enquire about them and after spending hours at the desk (the girl there was new and honestly it felt like the poor girl was just put there with no training whatsoever) I was told that I would have to come back later. I did come back later and I was told that nothing was found and that my mum “probably packed them and forgot about them”. I asked the lady at the desk to pass it on to a manager. It’s been months, no reply, no apology, no investigation launched within their departments. NOTHING. Will not be back, even if it’s the last hotel in Stirling. So yeah if you want to stay there make sure you take anything of value with you.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank JustMyOpinion95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2020 via mobile

A Historical hotel in the centre.Short walk to train stn.Free WiFi available.Lobby is spacious with seating & lifts.(Lift is old & slow).Check in was efficient & advised to book times for breakfast/dinner.Single Room was small with tv/desk.Bed headboard uncomfortable.Bathroom is small but modern style with walk in shower.Bar was closed.Restaurant is stylish & comfortable.Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked.Food quality is good with prompt service.Dinner in same restaurant has excellent menu with starters/mains/desserts.Service is attentive ,food quality is good,reasonable prices.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank michaeldS1905JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews