We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an improvement”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #218 of 387 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: US$4 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Crown in Birkdale sets the standard for guests across Merseyside. Of all the pubs and bars in Birkdale our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none. Also a newly converted brand change from sizzling to Ember inns :)
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Sadly the crown had been going down hill for many years, poor food, expensive beer and sullen staff, but not anymore, Embers have done wonders with the place, called in on bank holiday monday for lunch and the first thing that hits you is friendly welcoming staff, good range of beers and the ones i had were very well kept and as it was monday all at a great price, so as we were off to a good start we ordered food, started with breaded mushrooms and a prawn cocktail, to follow we both had the steak and ale pie, at time of order was told that because of a large order before us we would have to wait 40 minutes for our starters, which as we now knew this we did not mind, in the end the wait was only 30 minutes. my mushrooms were well cooked, hot and very tasty, my wifes prawn cocktail again tasty, well presented and the sauce not thin and runny as you get in some places, the steak and ale pies had to have been some of the best we have had for a long time as was the chips that came with. now to be fair the crown is not fine dinning, but it does not make out that it is, but if you want great pub grub at a fair price all topped off with good old fashioned service then come here, but be warned, if you do you will keep on coming back for more, i know we will be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alchermist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Alchermist, your wonderful feedback and rating means a lot to us. It always great to read and share great reviews with my team. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your food also and like the changes here at the Crown. I'll be sure to relay this great review to my team. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Team Crown :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Perfect family meal, staff very friendly and excellent food.
Massively improved since refurb, will definitely be back

Thank LexiSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Lexispeed, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. I'll be sure to relay them to the team. We hope to see you again very soon. Many thanks Team Crown :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Love this place the chocolate bombe is outstanding much better than pub food and 2 courses for £6.99 you can’t go wrong it was clean , cosy we sat by the fire the staff were amazing and the decor it great thanks again

1  Thank JillianWidlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Jillianwidlake, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We are glad to see that you like the new crown and we do look forward to seeing you and again soon! Many thanks Team Crown :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I was very disappointed with this visit, the tables where crammed in very close together and the chairs were obviously from a junk yard, a number of them obviously thrown out from a church as they still had the bible holders on the back, they were mostly very low, too low for people who were older or had back problems.
The food was not very good, possibly came out of packets and freezer, hence only 3 stars.
However, I would give the staff 10 stars!!! They were very pleasant and helpful and I felt sorry for them having to work there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Sandra G, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. It's very disappointing to hear. I can assure you the chairs were bought new as part of the pub project and certainly not second hand or from a ' junk yard' this is the design that our company uses, which is beyond our control. It's a rustic design and feel- possibly not to everyone's taste. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your food on your most visit. Not too sure why you feel sorry for the team working here? As they all love being part of team crown, it's great to read that you feel they are worthy of 10 stars! but as always I'll be sure to relay your feedback to the team. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We booked here for Easter Sunday and I have to say the Sunday roast beef was delicious followed by the lemon glaze tart.

We frequent the crown a few times a week and the food has always been lovely and of a good standard. The staff are lovely and friendly with a smile to their faces and you can tell they enjoy working here nothing is too much trouble. I’m looking forward to the warmer nights so we can sit outside in the lovely patio area having a glass of wine.

Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Clair M, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. I will be sure to relay them to the team. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your most recent visit to us! And we do hope to see you again very soon. Many thanks team Crown :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing