We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub lunch”
Review of Milbourne Arms

Milbourne Arms
Ranked #3 of 160 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Description: A beautiful traditional village pub with a sun trapped beer garden and serving meals all day. Come and try our traditional Indian Curry every Tuesday and Wednesday. Every Thursday we have a Steak Night. Tapas on Friday and Saturday. Sunday roasts go down a treat for all ages.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful traditional village pub with a sun trapped beer garden and serving meals all day. Come and try our traditional Indian Curry every Tuesday and Wednesday. Every Thursday we have a Steak Night. Tapas on Friday and Saturday. Sunday roasts go down a treat for all ages.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A good place to go for a tasty pub lunch,you are made very welcome.
Comfortable place ,lots of room. On a sunny day nice to sit outside .

Thank xrayTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Enjoyed a lovely late lunch a month ago. From entering the pub we were made to feel welcome. The pub is clean, bright and very welcoming. The lovely lady behind the bar brought us menus and took our drinks order from our table. Returning with the drinks she took our food order. There was a good choice including specials of the day. The food arrived promptly and was fabulous, good sized portions that we couldn't quite finish. The Chef came and enquired if we had enjoyed our meals, and we explained just our problem with portion size. We relaxed with our drinks and I did manage a lovely desert. thoroughly recommend this lovely venue, and hope to return soon. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HDA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek1958, Owner at Milbourne Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed not only the food but your whole visit. Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Thought we would treat ourselves to a nice steak, unfortunately we were sadly disappointed. Although we were served promptly and staff were friendly enough, the food was well below par. First steak came out about five minutes before the other so had to wait before starting to eat. Then we had to ask for the chips and then we had to ask for steak knives. Just as well we did as the sirloin was probably the one of the toughest ever as it had lots of gristle and sinew. It was accompanied by a mushroom so greasy it was leaking on the plate and the ‘salad’ that was described in the menu was literally a sprinkle of rocket, not what you would expect for a £16 steak. Not sure what has gone wrong but the standard of food and gone way down hill, such a shame.

2  Thank Glenndabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek1958, Owner at Milbourne Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your food.
There is no excuse for not receiving all of your meals together and I sincerely apologise for that and also for not being given the correct utensils.
However, if you had of made us aware at the time that you were not happy with the quality of the food we would have replaced the meal or refunded you.
Your comments will be the subject of our staff team talk and hopefully these mistakes will not be repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I went here with my family and had steak and ale pie for lunch. Good food, reasonabley priced and friendly staff.

1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek1958, Owner at Milbourne Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Called today as a family of 5..

Used trip advisor as per usual and certainly wasn't disappointed. Fresh hot home made food. Very reasonably priced. Nice ambiance if a little noisey attentive staff clean and tidy.

1  Thank mrsmidge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek1958, Owner at Milbourne Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milbourne Arms also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Milbourne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing