We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Opinion”

Takdir Indian Kitchen, Grill & Cocktail Bar
Get food delivered
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Takdir can be translated to mean 'luck' or 'destiny'. This Indian restaurant has been running successfully under the same ownership since 1979. Mamzy and Suff have taken over from their father of the day to day running of the business. With them around they make it a very calm, easy and relaxed atmosphere to be in. They do whatever they can to make your experience memorable and make you feel like... your at home away from home. Takdir is perfectly situated on East Parade, as it looks out onto the sea and after a windswept walk, or even drive along the seafront it can be quite inviting.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

Good points. service, nice comfortable seating,starters were lovely and the quality of meat was good. Negative. Food was rushed, no sooner had you finished your starter than you main course was been served. The curry dishes flavours didn't hit the mark, all dishes lacked authentic flavours and were over sweetened with a hint of cinnamon added which made the sauces bland on all the various dished ordered.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank jonnyl187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Being Bradford born and bred I was of course weaned on the traditional 'Bradford dish' of a good curry.
I'll keep this review simple, I've visited the Takdir in Whitley Bay several times whilst on business in the North East and can honestly say that it's up there with Bradford's finest! Excellent food.
As good as it gets, visit with confidence.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank BillyBantam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Really loved the food and the service . We liked the menu and the ambience. The wine was reasonable and the food superb and a bit different from your standard Indian menu - my husband’s mixed grill was massive and I had honey butter chicken which was delicious and mild : I would have liked to eaten more but the food portions were plentiful

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahdE1972OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Visited Takdir last Sunday with our family which included our infant grandson and had a great experience. The restaurant decor is traditional Indian with a very opulent look , you cannot fail to be impressed with the ambience. We all had the set menu and all our chosen dishes were delicious and well presented. All the staff we encountered were professional, polite and friendly and so nice to our grandson - a lovely experience was had and would highly recommend you give this restaurant a try, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mutti19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

went to takdir for my daughters birthday from the minute we walked through the door we knew we would have a good time fantastic welcome and the food exelent no disapointments the staff very frendly and i will recomend it to my friends first class meal thanks for making my daughters birthday

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leshJ146TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takdir Indian Kitchen, Grill & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Takdir Indian Kitchen, Grill & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.