We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

At Caledonia(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arrandale House & Apartments(Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelphi(Douglas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$77
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Devonian(Douglas)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$91
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Athol House(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
119
111
44
29
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
111
44
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach holidayplenty of choiceisle of manevening mealsea frontsea viewferry terminalnothing too much troublemeal timesgb toursbuffet styleold victoriannarrow corridorsduty managercoach partycleaned every daytea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Spent Easter weekend at this hotel. Reception staff helpful ,friendly and the manager attended immediately to some points we raised about the room ten out of ten.The restaurant staff were efficient both at clearing tables quickly and making sure food bar was not empty,ten out of ten.Bedroom 223 was big, had views out to sea, a massive bed and a sofa bed that would be suitable for children,it was always warm,ten out of ten. breakfast was English only and a really excellent choice .Evening meal had an excellent choice each night, it was beautifully presented and cooked.Ten out of ten.The hotel is on the seafront there are bus stops close by for buses to most parts of the island.Would we return? Yes but next time we will fly out to the Isle of Man

Room Tip: Room 223 best ever
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear guest, may we thank you for taking the time to leave us this very kind review. We are naturally delighted to note that you enjoyed your time with us and that your stay lived up to our usual high standards. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First time on the Isle of Man on a 5 day Shearing's coach trip.
Although our room on the second floor was on the small side it was kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff.
The bed was a little hard for our liking.
Breakfast and Dinner in the Tower Restaurant was very good, with a good choice, well prepared and very tasty.
All of the staff were very friendly.
Would certainly recommend highly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeoffandSandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Just got back from four days at The Chesterhouse. Everything was great. The room was massive. Water hot. Staff very very friendly. A special mention to head chef Paul. It was my husband's birthday and he helped organise a special meal and cake for the occasion. During the course of our stay he went out of his way to please the guest and their various food needs. Even though it was a carvery every night, there was ample choice and it was always hot. Something very important for me. Thoroughly recommend this place so why not give it a try?

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Marge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We just stay here with a coach party .our first room was a little on the small side as I'm over 6ft tall the bed was too small .But after we had a word at the desk the next day we were moved in to a bigger room with a king size bed and a fantastic sea views .The restaurant is buffet style breakfast you had plenty of choice and they will cook other stuff to order.The evening meal is also buffet style with a 3 choices .Every meal we had was cooked perfectly .The staff here can't do enough for you.One of our party wanted some gravy one night for he's meal they made some just for him like I say the staff were fantastic always severed with a smile.You need to remember this is a old building so it's not going to be perfect. Its very clean .There is also a lift to all floors .This was our first time on the island and if we did come back we would stay here again for sure .

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear guest, may we thank you for taking the time to leave us this very kind review. We are naturally delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your stay lived up to our usual high standards. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Enjoyed a Shearings 5 day break at this hotel and found it faultless, Good food served buffet style for breakfast and dinner with a very good choice of menu. We had a large sea view room which was well serviced by the staff, would be happy to return in the future

Room Tip: All rooms on first floor and above serviced by a lift. Sea view rooms seem to be larger than others
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear valued customer. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to serving you in the future! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews