We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Classic family fun

Well run amusements with plenty of sanitiser and helpful friendly staff. Our children actually won... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2020
hsammystewart
,
Lancaster, United Kingdom
via mobile
Standard Arcade

Unfortunately didn't get to here this year but went to it last Sept 2018, standard arcade fare... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2019
cuddlyarmy1
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Isle of Wight
from US$42.03
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
3
4
4
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
4
4
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Well run amusements with plenty of sanitiser and helpful friendly staff. Our children actually won teddies on the grab machines which I thought was impossible and this really made their holiday! One awesome member of staff went out of his way to help us and we really appreciated it, thank you! The only thing I would say could be better is the ticket shop as you have to earn at least 400 to get anything that resembles a pound shop prize otherwise your only option is a ballon or a tiny favour bag toy. We ended up giving ours away to try and let another child at least a chance of getting a prize. I can only comment on this as living next to Morecambe bay where the ticket prizes are excellent value and the children at least leave with something that leaves you feeling that little better as you watch your money disappear at an alarming rate! Lol.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank hsammystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Unfortunately didn't get to here this year but went to it last Sept 2018, standard arcade fare, didn't win on grab it though!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank cuddlyarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

**This is the tiny arcade at the far end of the esplanade, right near the Chine.**

We and the children love it for its genuine vintage machines, especially the hand-cranked one-armed bandits and the 2p multiplayer roulette.

The really old ‘horse racing’ that’s an early version of pinball has been converted from taking pre-decimal pennies and dates from 1954. I’ve never found machines of this age anywhere outside a museum; well worth a visit just for the historical interest, or if you have a mechanically-minded child who wants to work out how it works.

(NB the 2p pushers that don’t push all the time have a button that says ‘Start Motor’ that will start them pushing.)

Many previous reviews have this confused with the Summer Arcade, which is understandable but unfortunate, as this little gem is a jewel of its own unique kind.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank rcJ2354EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2019 via mobile

We recently visited Shanklin and were staying on the sea front an we went into the arcades every day. Bright, modern, loads of different types of machines. A very good place to pop in.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank sandrac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2019

The Shanklin amusements must have been recently modernised as they were INCREDIBLE! Huge arcade with loads of games, staff in the kiosks were friendly.

There's also a play area for kids, huge fish and chip shop and most importantly ICE CREAM! It was called something like Toppings and I can't find them here on Tripadvisor, but they were incredible. Asked for two scoops and ended up with about 4 scoops worth, over 30 flavours to choose from. They also did a doggy ice cream which seemed popular with local dog walkers? Pick n mix too.

Arcade was good as you could use your tokens in the gift shop next door (it's still tat, but at least you get a much bigger choice than most amusement kiosks!)

Go there expecting to waste money on silly holiday things and you will have a lovely time :)

(P.S. toilets need 20p)

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank GraceGR2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews