We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst fish and chips ever”
Review of The Pelican Cafe

The Pelican Cafe
Ranked #44 of 46 Quick Bites in Paignton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

The attitude of all the staff there was terrible.. the portions of fish and the chips were poor. (Smaller than child’s portion / mini fish elsewhere) The fish and chips were badly cooked and cold. The curry sauce was cold. The girl who served us put the chips in the box before the fish was even put into cook, when I mentioned they would be cold by the time the fish was cooked - she said’no they won’t’ . They were definitely the worst fish and chips we have ever had - a complete waste of money. A place to avoid .

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank m-s-h62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2020

Restaurant closed to Covid-19 regulations so my girl friend and l had a fish and chip take away supper with a hot and cold drink each- superb it was, sat eating it over the beach- highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank QPR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

Best chips I’ve ever had. Going back for more tomorrow! Great service. Freshly cooked food. Reasonable price.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2020

The first night we arrived we wanted fish and chips and apart from schoffes this is the only other chip shop open.
Being a big family of 9, the girl who served us did struggle but it didn't bother us, the food was beautiful i would recommend the gravy, proper thick chip shop gravy and the price for the food was nothing.
This is a takeaway cafe only due to Covid, but we just sat down around the harbour.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 83natashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

Takeaway chips after a walk round the harbour. Waited 20 minutes - got to be a bit of a laugh with the family really how long they were taking. Chips barely cooked but hot when they finally arrived.

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank gninja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pelican Cafe also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Pelican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.