We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallgarth Manor House
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$461
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
53
25
12
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
25
12
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanctuary suitevillage taverntravelzoo offerglass of mulled wineevents managerher feetprivate functionveggie sausageswedding venuemr and mrsgreat showerslept really wellwedding receptioncooked to perfectionafternoon teawedding breakfastample parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had an overnight stay at Hallgarth. The 3 stars are for the Suite, receptionist service and breakfast. The rest of it is misery. From the dreary cold atmosphere of the bar to running out of food and wine was just too much for us. The bar service was just unorganised and food was cold. With so many halls and manors close by doing exceptional food and giving great service, Hallgarth needs to up its game.

Lovely decor in the suite and the breakfast and service was excellent.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stellar0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for a Birthday overnight stay. Requested a room with a view if possible. Warm greeting on arrival and was shown room 10 which appeared fine. When I looked out of the window saw the view was of a building site. I assured my husband this was fine, but we were also disappointed the room had only a shower. We had booked a suite and the photo on their site showed a free standing bath. My husband asked if they had a room with a bath but was told only the bridal suite had a bath. A very nice lady on reception did come and give us 2 room keys to see if we wanted to change rooms. This we did to a room overlooking the front of the hotel facing the car park. The decor is OK and friendly staff. Good size TV , nice bathrooms. Attention to cleaning could improve, the mirror in the bedroom was covered in what felt like wax, which I cleaned off and bedroom carpet badly stained which could easily have been cleaned. We had to leave early as my husband had to be back for a meeting at 11am so didn’t have breakfast.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. Casual layed back sort of place. Chose here because it was central to where we were visiting family in the area. The (no 6) room was spacious and quite nice. Shower room was lovely although a bit on the small side. We had dinner there 2 of the nights and have no complaints about the food and breakfast was plenty and fine. The staff were amazing...friendly, extremely funny and very helpful. From the start re-arranging our booking because of the snow to fitting us in for a late dinner on mothers day which included a couple of mothers day gifts thrown in. a Few locals get in the bar and there is some noise but all quiet by about 11.30 so we were happy. You would need a car as there isn't a lot to see or do in Pittington but Durham is only a few miles away. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFarrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely Georgian manor with tasteful decoration and looked recently refurbished. There’s a tavern and I think a swimming pool. The food was excellent and reasonably priced at £6-9 starter, £10-15 main, 6-7 desert. Wine is served by the glass for as little as £3.50 for 175ml. I had the Cajun chicken with onion rings, triple cooked chips, flat mushrooms, tomatoes and coleslaw and watercress at £15. It was faultless in taste and presentation (also huge). The rooms were beautifully clean and decorated. I loved the Georgian windows in the eaves. It did get slightly hot overnight but you could open the window. Toiletries were also provided and the location was peaceful and rural, overlooking lawns. There are hairdryers and tea making facilities in the rooms. The bed was comfortable and plenty of plump pillows. I’d go here for pleasure as well as business. It was only 9 minutes to Belmont (Durham East). The staff were friendly and really helpful. The price was amazing at £66/night.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a family meal, and I have to say it wasn’t very good, a limited menu of 1,2 or 3 course set Sunday menu should be an easy service, however the prawn cocktail has to be The worst I’ve ever encountered in my life, the meat on the dinner was tough as old boots, the spotted dick and custard was nice though!
Overall a 1 star rating and very disappointing and I would not recommend!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Disappointed not to have the opportunity to discuss when you were here.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews