We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
88
38
20
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
38
20
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanctuary suite orangery restaurant held our wedding travelzoo offer glass of mulled wine wedding food lovely wedding modern bathroom wedding venue live locally attic room lovely hotel slept really well every member of staff three course meal shower cubicle cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights. Casual layed back sort of place. Chose here because it was central to where we were visiting family in the area. The (no 6) room was spacious and quite nice. Shower room was lovely although a bit on the small side. We had dinner there 2 of the nights and have no complaints about the food and breakfast was plenty and fine. The staff were amazing...friendly, extremely funny and very helpful. From the start re-arranging our booking because of the snow to fitting us in for a late dinner on mothers day which included a couple of mothers day gifts thrown in. a Few locals get in the bar and there is some noise but all quiet by about 11.30 so we were happy. You would need a car as there isn't a lot to see or do in Pittington but Durham is only a few miles away. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFarrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

A lovely Georgian manor with tasteful decoration and looked recently refurbished. There’s a tavern and I think a swimming pool. The food was excellent and reasonably priced at £6-9 starter, £10-15 main, 6-7 desert. Wine is served by the glass for as little as £3.50 for 175ml. I had the Cajun chicken with onion rings, triple cooked chips, flat mushrooms, tomatoes and coleslaw and watercress at £15. It was faultless in taste and presentation (also huge). The rooms were beautifully clean and decorated. I loved the Georgian windows in the eaves. It did get slightly hot overnight but you could open the window. Toiletries were also provided and the location was peaceful and rural, overlooking lawns. There are hairdryers and tea making facilities in the rooms. The bed was comfortable and plenty of plump pillows. I’d go here for pleasure as well as business. It was only 9 minutes to Belmont (Durham East). The staff were friendly and really helpful. The price was amazing at £66/night.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank KimberleyH576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Went for a family meal, and I have to say it wasn’t very good, a limited menu of 1,2 or 3 course set Sunday menu should be an easy service, however the prawn cocktail has to be The worst I’ve ever encountered in my life, the meat on the dinner was tough as old boots, the spotted dick and custard was nice though!
Overall a 1 star rating and very disappointing and I would not recommend!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Disappointed not to have the opportunity to discuss when you were here.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely place but very disappointed 12 of us had Sunday lunch prawn cocktail very poor 3 small prawns and a couple chopped up to make it look as though their was more in around a teaspoon full of sauce and 2 pieces of toast on the side then to the roast barley warm plenty on plate but beef u could not cut into it it was that tuff same as the lamb only meat that was good was the turkey then the dessert lemon taut pastry was very soft as though it was of old stock won’t revisit such a shame it would have helped if the put the fire on as we all sat right through dinning with our coats on that as so much potential it such a shame but the company was good as it’s not very often we all get together better luck next time we all arrange to get together

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank pearld214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Disappointed not to have the opportunity to discuss when you were here.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Booked here for Mothers Day around 5pm to avoid the crowds as we had heard how lovely this place was.......REALLY ? The restaurant was empty apart from ONE other table. The man who came to take our order was absolutely miserable , never cracked a smile once and made us feel like we were an inconvenience to him. The restaurant was freezing cold and dim until I took it upon myself to switch the lights on. Mr Happy served the main meals and then just disappeared ,but there was hardly any gravy so I had to search the restaurant for a member of staff to ask for some more. The extra gravy came and then the waiter disappeared again leaving the restaurant unattended again and leaving us feeling like we had interrupted his afternoon and he had better things to do. After the main meal I had to go and find someone again to order desserts. A girl was sent out to take our order but when she eventually appeared she walked straight past our table and took the dessert order from the only oher table in the restaurant who hadn't even finished their mains. This meal was for mothers day and two of the three mothers were elderly and had to sit in a cold, dark uninviting restaurant with pitiful service from the most miserable man I've ever been served by. This place needs a major wake up call. An appauling afternoon had by all ! Definately won't be visiting again

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank marshall0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbooth, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Disappointed not to have the opportunity to discuss when you were here.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews