We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$72
View deal
Expedia.com$78
Priceline$92
Hotels.com$78
Travelocity$78
Trip.com$78
Agoda.com$78
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,023)
Filter reviews
3,023 results
Traveler rating
1,555
741
422
197
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,555
741
422
197
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the black knight restaurant library bar courtyard room elizabethan banquet afternoon tea murder mystery the king james suite four poster bed chester le street cricket ground scones evening meal eggs benedict special occasion waiting staff great night food was lovely
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 3,023 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2022 via mobile

Our first visit to a really unusual and striking hotel with bags of character. 2 night stay. Great staff, really enjoyed dining in the Knights restaurant and our room (84 in the annexe) provided everything we needed. Make sure you follow signs though - the place is a maze!

The lasting memory for us was just how peaceful everything was and just how friendly the staff were. Even Poppet the hotel cat who greeted us merits a mention.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Z5566DVjackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2022

Dear Z5566DVjackw
Thank you so much for taking the time to share you recent experience of Lumley Castle. We're delighted that you not only found it peaceful and relaxing but that the Lumley Team played their part in your overall enjoyment.
Lovely also to hear that Poppet played her role in welcoming you to 'her' Castle. She does get on well with guests and we actually sell a Poppet soft toy so she can go home with many of our guests.
If we don't see you again before 2023, we wish you both a peaceful Christmas and a fantastic New Year.

The Lumley Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2022 via mobile

Lumley Castle has loads of historic atmosphere, a ghost, lovely rooms and a beautiful restaurant + a golf course onsite. Staff are welcoming and B&B for the night was only £101.00, what’s not to like. Drinks are a trifle expensive but nothing like London prices

Room tip: If using as a stopover, get there early so you have time to explore and enjoy some of the surroundings
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank R2204LTkevinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2022

Dear R2204
Thank you for sharing your feedback around your recent visit to Lumley Castle. Your mention of the ghost dimmed the lights in the Castle momentarily as a thank you from Lilly
We're delighted that you enjoyed your room as well as our recently refurbished restaurant.
We hope to see you return in the not so distant future. If we don't have the pleasure of your company before 2023, please enjoy a great Christmas and fabulous New Year.
Best wishes.
The Lumley Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2022

Stayed for 1 night which included afternoon tea, escape room and breakfast. When going for afternoon tea the staff were rude, our being there was clearly an inconvenience and made us feel really uncomfortable. The young girl who took us to our table rolled her eyes and sighed when we asked for a bottle of wine. Same experience when we got breakfast. Staff were abrupt and clearly felt put out coz we asked for something from the breakfast menu instead of having the buffet.

Gave 2 stars as escape room was brilliant and the couple running it fab and friendly. Reception staff also friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank jessiebear89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2022

Dear JessieBear89
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to Lumley Castle. Your feedback is very concerning as these are not the standards to which the team are both hired for and trained against. Generally, feedback regarding our team is generally favourable.
I wonder if you could contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager, I know he is keen to speak to you regarding your experience in greater detail.
We hope this experience hasn't put you off visiting Lumley Castle again in the future. If we dont see you before 2023, have a great Christmas and New Year.
The Lumley Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2022

Lumley Castle is amazing. The scene was set perfectly with complimentary drinks and the dramatic announcement of a murder. We loved the food and the service - my mushroom wellington was the best vegetarian option I have ever had. The portion size of the main course was small though. The actors were very good although some voices were louder than others - the story was good and did not need some of the crude references for cheap laughs. We loved trying to guess who did it by completing the sheet for the prize of an overnight stay. Overall great format and a lovely experience.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2022

Dear Dianneh141

Thank you so much for your feedback around your recent Murder Mystery experience. It's proven very popular but we do understand that the Carry-On gags are not for everyone.
In discussing your feedback in our team meeting it wasnt clear if anyone guessed the murderer correctly. We hope you did.
If we dont see you again before 2023 the Lumley Team hope you and your family enjoy a peaceful Christmas and a fabulous New Year.

Best Wishes.
All at Lumley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2022

Stayed on a 2-4-1 deal in courtyard room, nice added touches…treats basket, water, tea/coffee /hot chocolate etc, slippers, toiletries including a shower cap
Comfortable bed, nice linen. Bathroom a little tired, needs some TLC, dripping tap, refresh sealant would be beneficial.
Took breakfast, evening meal and afternoon tea, only cold breakfast on first morning as problems with kitchen gas supply, staff did their best to cope.
Evening meal was OK although menu a little limited for our tastes, staff attentive, drinks are however very expensive!
Afternoon was complimentary, little disappointing (cucumber sandwiches served instead of ham/mustard) maybe all the ham had been used for continental breakfast! Think afternoon tea is overpriced, would recommend staff are trained to enquire which tea options are available…sadly we weren’t given a choice and we would have preferred Earl Grey!
Overall we found the hotel staff pleasant especially Kate on reception.
Returning of the £75 deposit should be explained more clearly as 2 days on it still hasn’t been returned and the correct amount debited from my bank account which is disappointing.
So I suppose the overall question is would we return to L.C - Yes if we had another opportunity for a “deal”.

Room tip: Take a jumper or coat as you may have to go outside to access reception and dining options.
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T4221JUmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2022

Dear T422
Many thanks for your 5 Star review. The Lumley team work hard to exceed expectations, whilst we also listen to our guests on how we can improve. Your comments regarding the Afternoon Tea have been passed to the kitchen and restaurant team who will use your feedback in the positive spirit with which it was shared.
We do hope to see you back at the Castle at some point in the near future. If we don't see you before 2023, have a great Christmas and New Year.
The Lumley Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews