We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway”

Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 127 Restaurants in Bideford
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 March 2021

This has to be the worse Indian meal I have had. The chicken rice dish was dreadful with dried out hard chicken pieces I could not eat. The 2nd dish was a curry and was full of large pieces of potato to bulk it out. 2 carrots which were soft and tasteless, could have been tinned ones.

Have had far better tasting Indian food from a supermarket. Absolutely dreadful, what a disappointing and expensive meal as most of it went in the bin

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Travelwalker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

We've had one eat in meal while they were doing them, & regular deliveries over the past couple of months, & every time the food has been outstanding. Not just us, but friends eating with us, have said that it's the best Indian food eaten in a long time. Totally agree. The various meals we've had have all been really tasty, as spicy as requested, & a good size portion with lots of chicken or king prawns. The staff, especially the drivers are great. Wouldn't go anywhere else for our Indian deliveries now, so hope they continue to remain in business in these very tough times. Thank you to all the Taj Mahal team. Keep doing what you are doing. We love you!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Patricia2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Nice and quiet and friendly. We had a lovely meal. A good selection and freshly cooked. We loved it

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Radds2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Used to be the best Indian in town by a country mile. The last four meals (takeaway and eat in) have got progressively worse! We gave them one more chance and had a takeaway this evening. I had Ghurka chilli chicken and it was shocking! It tasted like they'd used a lamb casserole packet mix and then, for good measure, stirred in half a jar of mint sauce. Extremely disappointed. Won't be going back!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank igb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2020

I have both eaten-in and enjoyed take-aways from this restaurant this year and I have been impressed with the quality of the food. They take dietary requirements seriously and have catered easily for various intolerances and allergies. If you like your food hot then chat to the staff as they tend to dial down the heat for Devonshire taste buds. Ask for your curry "London" hot if you like it extra spicy!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A6380FRtomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.