We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmer Lawn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lime Wood Hotel(Lyndhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,772)
Filter reviews
1,772 results
Traveler rating
1,011
460
156
92
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
460
156
92
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberesfords restaurantsaltus spathird floornew forestjacuzzi and saunasuperior roomindoor and outdoor poolsleisure facilitiescomplimentary upgradeafternoon teaforest viewlovely hotelfour posterlounge areaspa treatmentsfamily roomrestaurant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,772 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Too busy to provide the level of service which the high cost demands. The people staying in the room above us had two massive arguments during the night and ruined our second nights sleep - no-one from the hotel did anything about it. The room look nice but do not have many of the usual items to make a stay comfortable (e.g. shower caps, an iron, a fridge..) Food in the restaurant is good but don't stay.....

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StandenDeliver2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear StandenDeliver2018

It is always so disappointing to read reviews like this as the Hotel was very busy over the Easter Weekend and the vast majority of our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Clearly if we let ourselves down in terms of service we must apologise and would like to hear from you directly in terms of the specific service failures you refer to.

Regarding the argument taking place in the bedroom above yours it is very frustrating that you blame the Hotel for something we cannot control. If incidents like this occur and it is brought to our attention we always act with the aim of moderating the poor behaviour. I can assure you that this would have been the case here. We do have shower caps, irons and ironing boards all available on request from reception that will be delivered to your room directly.

Your comment about Beresford’s Restaurant is greatly appreciated. We hope that you will contact us directly at the Hotel regarding the specific service failures you encountered as we pride ourselves on getting it right most of the time. We hope that you will change your mind and visit us again in the fullness of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The breakfast was great with a variety of options. The room was ready for when we arrived and was clean, tidy and well presented. The staff were on hand constantly to help us and were very attentive to what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beckydenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear beckydenby

I am so glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and all that we have to offer. i hope you return and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has a wonderful setting, the staff are always so friendly and helpful. Myself and my family love it here and will visit repeatedly. We have stayed overnight before and come for day visits. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hayleyallen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear hayleyallen2018

It is so nice to read that you and your family love returning here. i hope we see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, service was excellent and the food superb. Suggestion to get to breakfast either early or last minute...gets very busy. Easy parking and the views were good. Shame they couldn't organise for the rain to stop!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SimonLashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SimonLashley

thank you for your review. Yes breakfast can get very busy sometimes. Sorry we could not fix the weather for you! I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found a little gem for a night away as a birthday treat . Great service from very friendly staff and the evening meal and breakfast were top class complemented by a extensive wine list . Beautiful location but shame about the weather.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarahstillwell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sarahstillwell20

Thank you for your review. I hope we can welcome you back again soon and the weather is a bit better for you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews