We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Anna N
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1948
Wonderful welcome and stay - thank you!
Reviewed Jun 30, 2015via mobile
From the moment we arrived the team at Forest Lodges Strathyre gave us a real VIP welcome. Alan and all the staff we encountered were attentive, thoughtful and knowledgable about the area.

Our Golden Oak lodge felt luxurious and the hot tub was a real hit with the kids and adults alike. Even when it was raining (it is Scotland, in May!) the hot tub felt like a real treat.

We hired bikes with tag alongs and I would totally recommend this as the cycle path runs right along the front of the lodges. If your legs will take you that far I would throughly recommend cycling to Mhor 84 at Kingshouse. The food, drink and surroundings are fantastic and kids are always welcome.

A secret tip off re. food at the lodges, make sure you try the frozen curry that they sell at the welcome retreat. I was sceptical when someone recommended it to me but I promise you it gives any takeaway a run for their money. So much less hassle than cooking from scratch!

So, would I go back? Yes, in a flash! Would love to try the lodges at Loch Long too but these ones at Strathyre with their views over Loch Lubnaig are particularly breathtaking. Enjoy!
Date of stay: May 2015
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱9,511
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,511
4.8 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱5,317
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,317
5.4 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View of Inn from across the road
Tripadvisor
₱5,022
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,022
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱8,271
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,271
4.8 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱10,991
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,991
6.0 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱6,203
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,203
5.6 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
₱4,696
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,696
5.7 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free parking
Restaurant
New luxury glamping pod
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,050
  • Priceline
5.5 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.1 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.9 km from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Callander
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
508
225
85
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
508
225
85
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden oak hot tub hideaway cabin entertainment package hired bikes road leading great holiday tv package master bedroom relaxing break washing up liquid beautiful scenery ben ledi main bedroom self catering welcome pack lovely location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 874 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2015

We booked earlier in the year, deciding on Scotland as neither of us had really spent any time there. Owing to travelling so far from East Yorkshire and having the dogs we decided to stay for 7 nights. Booking early we had not benefitted from the June discounts 'dogs go free'.

In the run up to our holiday I had read some reviews here that parking at Forest Holidays Strathyre was not very good, having experienced the Cropton site where we had been lucky enough to park next to the cabin I was a little put off. I contacted Forest Holidays via Facebook and must say they were very helpful and gave a £70 refund for one of our dogs. Their website states parking for second vehicle may be away from the cabin, which gives the impression the first is at the cabin!

We arrived on Monday 8th June 2015, and found that we were allocated cabin 3. The parking was not at the cabin, but a short distance away in the main parking area, they had arranged a cart to assist convey our luggage to our cabin. Shortly after arriving we had a visit from ranger Jack Black who was a lovely friendly man and a credit to Forest Holidays, he told us our cabin had recently been refurbished which was clear to see. The cabin was in a very good location on the site, and fairly private.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly in the retreat especially when providing directions. Having the two dogs we had intended on trips out and lots of walking, we had glorious weather during our stay only the Saturday and Sunday were just a little damp.

If you decide to take the Three Lochs Forest Drive, off the A821 Dukes Pass, which is only open to vehicles during the summer months be advised it is only a dusty gravel forest track and I would not recommend a lung slow sports car luckily we have a Discovery!

I must also recommend eating at Callander Meadows, excellent service and great food! Don't forget a visit to Bracklinn Falls, Callender well worth a walk around. We spent our days walking with the dogs and our evenings relaxing in the hot tub, which always seemed a little full!

We had planned our last day to be a walk up Ben Ledi, we climbed via Stank Glen had a break at the summit paying a visit to the memorial to Sergeant Harry Lawrie. The weather had closed in and started to rain on the ascent, but before descending the clouds started to clear it was still bitterly cold. We had dressed appropriately some climbers hadn't!

I cannot recommend this site enough, we really enjoyed our holiday and time in Scotland no doubt helped by the fantastic weather we had during our stay. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you recent break at Strathyre. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday, it sounds as if you made the most of the location and spent time getting to know Scotland. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Maria Vernon-Allen
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

We stayed in Silver Birch Dog Friendly Cabin 4 in May for a Midweek Break. Cabin was very clean with plenty of space, great place to take your dog and they are made to feel welcome too. The hot tub was perfect for relaxing in the evenings with nice hill views from ours. Our cabin was very close to the car and the forest retreat which really does have everything if you've forgotten something and the panini's are really good!
The staff are so friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if you enjoy walking or cycling, we made use of the fact it's on a national cycle route and also some of the more challenging forest tracks to explore. Plenty to explore nearby, The Three Lochs Forest Drive is well worth going to as you can enjoy some great views from the comfort of your car. Blair Drummond Safari Park is also nice and close too.

A great peaceful location definitely worth staying at! Already booked our next stay at the Ardgarten Site and will without doubt be returning to Strathyre soon!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank x4kmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2015

Thank you for your review following your break in May at Strathyre. We are pleased it worked out well for you and that you enjoyed seeing some of the sights. We look forward to seeing you again at Ardgartan Argyll soon.

Kind regards,
Maria Vernon-Allen
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

We booked a week here following a wonderful week at Cropton a year ago. The Lodge was lovely and clean, immaculate everywhere and even better, there was no phone reception or WiFi so we just relaxed and chilled out all week. The hot tub was used every day and was great after a days hiking or cycling. We booked lodge 34 and were lucky enough to see a red deer in the woods by the loch and a resident PineMartin came every night at dusk and ate our grapes and we discovered he loved eggs too. All in all a fabulous week and we will use Forest Holidays again and again.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MikeD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2015

Thank you for your kind review following your recent break at Strathyre. It sounds as if you had a lovely relaxing break and enjoyed making friends with the wildlife! We look forward to seeing you again and again.

Kind regards,
Maria Vernon-Allen
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed at the lodges for a weekend in June. The lodge was very nice but a few small issues let it down. Even though it was June the evenings were cold, and there were only two radiators in the whole lodge. I had to leave the oven on with the door open to warm the place up. The bedding had lots of marks on it and could do with replacing. The light over the mirror in the bathroom, and the light in the entrance hall didn’t work at all. There was no oven glove either…..minor issue, but not when you burn your hand! The roof of the lodge seemed to be covered with colour coat steel, and boy was it noisy in the upstairs bedroom when it rained!
The Retreat shop is very, very expensive. Better to shop in Tesco Express in Callander. Sorry Forest Lodges, but your prices are ridiculous.
We didn’t have a hot tub so I can’t comment on them, but some of the lodges with hot tubs weren’t very private….some facing the road and the Retreat. Our lodge - 21 -did have other lodges quite close either side, and indeed a couple in front but wasn’t overlooked too much, and the view was amazing , especially from the landing when you could see right over the loch and the mountains.
The lodges are in a wonderful setting with lots of nice walks around the loch and up the mountain, and the dog loved it. Never seen so many bluebells! Callander is a very nice little place, and I can highly recommend The Riverside pub. Dog friendly, live music on Fridays and Saturdays and fantastic food.
One of the best walks we found was one we found by chance. Follow the signs for the waterfall from Callander and go up the hill to the second car park – free too! The walk is very pleasant and quite flat and you come to a wonderful waterfall and bridge after about half a mile or a little more. It’s really beautiful. It doesn’t appear to be advertised, and is well hidden. Loch Katrine is wonderful too, and well worth a visit.
We paid for the entertainment package, but they refunded it as the internet wasn’t working due to some problem with getting the signal to the site. They did have a package for £14.95 which included films such as Jaws….and Sky Sports, but we didn’t take it as it didn’t look very good value. My EE phone worked there fine, and the 3G signal did work intermittently too.
Even though this review might come across a little negative, we did enjoy the weekend and the lodge and would return.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 106paulad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2015

Thank you for writing a review following your recent break at Strathyre. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in spite of the niggles, for which we apologise. It sounds as if you enjoyed some lovely walks and you have given some great tips for future guests about where to go. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Maria Vernon-Allen
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

Hi myself and my wife have just returned from a weeks long holiday here with our dogs and had a wonderful time!!! There are plenty of nice walks to go on and afterwards there was nothing better than relaxing in the hot tub to soothe our weary legs! We would also like to say that the staff were amazing and there to help at all times! We really can't wait to return there and already are planning our next visit thanks!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bazwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2015

Thank you for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Strathyre and we very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Maria Vernon-Allen
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews