We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family afternoon.”

Gauntlet Birds of Prey
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gauntlet, Eagle & Vulture park is the largest bird of prey park in the Northwest of England. With over 120 birds of prey, ranging from the smallest owls to the worlds largest eagle and Vultures it really is a haven for animal lovers. Gauntlet has two daily shows at 12.30 and 3 during the months March-Oct and during the winter months weekends only. As well as our two daily displays we have vulture feeding and meet & greet. We have a large children's play area with plenty of room for picnics. We are on the same site as Fryers garden centre and you can leave at anytime and come back for our displays. For those wishing to get closer we have bird of prey experiences which are run 7 days a week throughout the year. This gives people the opportunity to handle and fly the birds.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We made a last minute decision to visit the centre on Good Friday and arrived in time to have a look round at the birds before witnessing what was a really informative and very enjoyable display and talk. All of the birds were housed in excellent conditions and in very good health. They are clearly loved and very well looked after. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and very happy to answer questions - even when we later realised that they were actually very busy preparing for the display! We look forwards to a return visit soon.

Thank themiller2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauntlet1002, Manager at Gauntlet Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Gauntlet. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your day!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying display"
in 64 reviews
"meet and greet"
in 31 reviews
"garden centre next door"
in 8 reviews
"red kites"
in 6 reviews
"taster session"
in 6 reviews
"eagle encounter"
in 8 reviews
"little owl"
in 12 reviews
"birthday present"
in 8 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 8 reviews
"harris hawk"
in 10 reviews
"wander around"
in 5 reviews
"different species"
in 5 reviews
"whole family"
in 8 reviews
"play area"
in 14 reviews
"birthday party"
in 7 reviews
"value for money"
in 13 reviews
"hawk walk"
in 5 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Stopped here just in time for the three o'clock demonstration, which was fantastic. A good variety of birds exhibited, very friendly and informative hosts, and of course a beautiful setting.

Reasonable entry fees, very much worth the money. You can walk around both before or after the show(s) and have a good nosy at the birds! The goats and meerkats were a bonus!

No student discount, though it certainly didn't affect my experience.

Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauntlet1002, Manager at Gauntlet Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review Gauntlet, we're glad you enjoyed your day! We are currently in the process of looking at student discount so watch this space for your next visit!

See you again soon!

Gauntlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My sister gave me a taster session voucher for my birthday. I have a disability and my wife called to make the booking. The staff were most helpful on the phone and took the trouble to ensure that everything would fit around me, When we arrived we were made most welcome and the taster session itself lasted a good hour. During this time I was told exactly what to expect and reassured that things could be adapted around me if I wasn't sure of anything. During the session I was introduced to four delightful birds (starting with Yoda the Little Owl) who all happily sat on the leather glove I was provided with and flew away and back again repeatedly as the birds were fed from the glove, while all the time I was informed about the behaviour patterns and tremendous abilities of the birds. The birds were very comfortable with me and I was absolutely fascinated with them. Some of the flying was indoors, some outdoors. Afterwards we browsed the dsplays and finally watched a flying display outside put on by the professional staff The highlight of this was probably when 20 of the centre's kestrels flew around at once until the end of session when they all flew back home again for their lunch! A superb and unique experience and we intend to go back with our grandson at the earliest opportunity.

Thank W3Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauntlet1002, Manager at Gauntlet Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review Gauntlet, we're really glad you enjoyed your experience. The experiences are for you guys so we are always happy to tailor them slightly to meet your needs so we're really glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Gauntlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Three of us visited Sun 18th March - braving the snow and freezing temperatures - and are so glad we did!

We had the meerkat experience package. Words cannot do justice to how good a day we had. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome by all the amazing staff, especially Sally who led our experience.

Due to the weather, we were literally the only guests and were made to feel like VIPs. Sally clearly knows her stuff and her passion for conservation and education is a testament to her and the centre.

We got to handle and fly a little owl (Yoda), a long eared owl (Eric), the beautiful eagle owl / Malaysian wood owl (Po) and the eccentric American black vulture (Gina). What an experience! We then got handle ferrit Diego before hand feeding meerkats Timon and Pumba.

From start to finish the day was exceptional! Thank you for a great day - and I recommend this to everyone. You won't be disappointed!

Thank daveyboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauntlet1002, Manager at Gauntlet Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review Gauntlet. We're really glad you enjoyed your day despite the testing British weather!

Hope to see you all again soon!

Gauntlet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Gauntlet is clearly a place that cares passionately about wildlife. There is a fantastic array of birds to see across all genre's. The staff are very laid back, welcoming and willing to share their expertise. We had visited previously but on this occasion it was for our daughters birthday. The booking experience was simple and nice invitations sent out by the staff. Everything was in place for our arrival and the welcome warm. Joe (who lead the bird display for the party) was brilliant - he knew exactly how to engage the children on their level and mixed humour and facts to keep them riveted. They were enthralled as were the adults in attendance! Owls, hawks and even a pole cat made an appearance with the children allowed to get hands on and share their knowledge. The site has developed over time with a children's play area (a fort with lots of activities) as well as other animals aside from birds (goats, meerkats etc). This is a location that can be enjoyed by people of all ages and the birds are well cared for. A real treat for all.

Thank GAB056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauntlet1002, Manager at Gauntlet Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review Gauntlet. We're glad you enjoyed the birthday party! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again

Gauntlet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauntlet Birds of Prey also viewed

 

Been to Gauntlet Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing