We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friday Gin Alchemy”

Salcombe Distilling Company
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Gin School, is the ultimate gin experience for the curious gin lover. At our outstanding distilling laboratory for adults, you will take charge of a beautiful copper mini-still to develop and distil your very own 70cl bottle of gin.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Without a doubt, one of the best "Experience Days" I've had in a long time. For a relatively new company they have got it just right. A really informative and interactive afternoon delivered by very knowledgeable and friendly "Distillers". You even get to take a bottle of your own creation home with you! Even if you don't like gin it is worth a visit to produce a unique bottle as a gift for a relative or friend. I would like a return visit when I have finished my existing bottle .

1  Thank IainBissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il0vegin, Gin School Coordinator at Salcombe Distilling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear IainBissell, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review about your experience! We do hope you come back soon to distil another bottle of your own gin with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our knowledgeable and friendly distillery team as well.
Kind regards,
Tonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gin making"
in 20 reviews
"gin and tonic"
in 14 reviews
"great fun"
in 14 reviews
"christmas present"
in 5 reviews
"g ts"
in 5 reviews
"take home"
in 8 reviews
"make your own"
in 6 reviews
"great gin"
in 4 reviews
"birthday gift"
in 4 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this experience"
in 3 reviews
"learn how"
in 3 reviews
"bar staff"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"fever tree tonic"
in 2 reviews
"great decor"
in 2 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

I really enjoyed the whole experience! It was very fun and informative and once you've finished you have a good quality gin that you have made yourself to take home. Small details such as sticking the label on and getting a display box to take it away were unexpected but great!
Distillers were very friendly and not to mention the Salcombe Gin drinks you get throughout your lesson!

2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il0vegin, Gin School Coordinator at Salcombe Distilling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Tom S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Gin School lesson and we hope that you come back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Tonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I was bought the gin school experience as a present from my partner. We both arrived (he dropped me off) and we enjoyed a Salcombe gin and tonic which was really good.
After that, my partner left as the experience started. I was part of a group of about 12 - made up of couples and solo people like myself. The staff made us feel so welcome and were lovely... constantly looking after us. We learnt about the distilling process and were shown the distillery - a beautiful piece of kit.
Next, we were off too the gin school. Here, it had a school science laboratory feel to it which I liked. They talked us through the ingredients but also had a handout to explain the flavours. We were then allowed to pick our ingredients, measuring them out accurately and encouraged to try them. There were staff always checking that our concoction would work, so that was reassuring. More G&T was served. Once our gin was made, we got to bottle it (label and all) and also try some - they served it two ways work different garnishes to show how they change the taste of the drink.
A really great and enjoyable experience. Thoroughly recommended and I would definitely do it again in the future.

1  Thank Dimple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il0vegin, Gin School Coordinator at Salcombe Distilling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Dimple C, Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience with us, we really appreciate it! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and had such a fabulous Gin School experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Tonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

This was a birthday gift from my wife that we chose to make into a long weekend trip to Salcombe. The gin making experience was first rate. Couldn’t recommend high enough.

Thank S1J2B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il0vegin, Gin School Coordinator at Salcombe Distilling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear S1J2B3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your birthday gift with us at Salcombe Gin! We hope you are still enjoying your newly created bottle of gin and come back to visit us for many birthdays to come!
Kind regards,
Tonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We received the Gin School voucher from our son and daughter-in-law for Christmas. The moment we stepped into the building we were welcomed by Mark in the bar who gave us a large glass of gin and tonic. When everyone had arrived Mark took us into the distillery and told us all about the processes of making the Salcombe Gin, a very informative talk. We were then taken across to the classroom where we had our own mini stills in which to make our own bottle. We had a list of botanicals about 50 in all, we had to choose between 10 and 15 and we were given the quantity or weights of each and picked from an aray of jars on the shelf, Mark, Jason and Tonya were around to make sure we weren't putting too much of any botanical the mix. The next stage was putting the mix into the still and heating it up. While the gin was distilling (which took about 20 minutes) we were served another large G & T while thinking of a name for our gin. A label was printed for us and then we were able to bottle our gin which was then put into a lovely woodern presentation box for us to take home. At the end of the afternoon and after another glass, we were able to sit back and reflect on our wonderful afternoon at Gin school. We would certainly recommend anyone to do this, we stayed for a few days in Salcombe so as we didn't need to drive home afterwards.

1  Thank KathG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il0vegin, Gin School Coordinator at Salcombe Distilling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear KathG64, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! I will be sure to pass along your remarks to Mark and our distillery team. We are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas gift from your son and daughter-in-law and hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Tonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salcombe Distilling Company also viewed

 

Been to Salcombe Distilling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing