We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent food just a few niggles!”
Review of Shrewsbury Arms

Shrewsbury Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
Shrewsbury Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 548 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We arrived early for our table to have a drink in the bar first. Nice bar area with plenty of tables and chairs with candles that gave a nice ambience. Ordered drinks (great gin and cocktail menu) but when we enquired about the ales we were disappointed to be told there was only one available but there would be another one in a few mins, we asked what it was called and they replied 'don't know!' Anyway we paid for it and they said they'd bring it over... they forgot! Never mind, they apologised and the ale was worth waiting for. Sat at our table in the lovely restaurant area, and ordered more drinks. Bit frustrated to be told they didnt have pie or halloumi kebabs, should be fully stocked for a sat eve?! Drinks came, lovely prosecco on offer for 20 pounds but they bought the wrong ale over for dad! They swapped it though no problem. Nachos starter was lovely and we also had bread and olives. For mains we couldn't fault the burger, fish and chips and lamb kofte kebab, really impressive food, quantity and quality spot on! Again we were disappointed to be told there were no choc brownies left but we ordered an apple waffle and 3 coffees which were fine. When the bill came we noticed we'd been charged £22.50 for the prosecco, we pointed it out and it was amended but it's a bit naughty! There was a singer on in the bar as we left and we'd have stayed for another drink but the bar had a terrible smell of sick so we left asap! I know I've had a few moans but we all said we'd return, the waitresses were lovely, place very nice and food was excellent, they just need to tighten up on a few things.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury A, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear reviewer,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience at the Shrewsbury Arms.

Its great to hear that overall you had a positive experience.

I have relayed your comments (good and bad) to the team, we have spoken about where we need to improve so on your next visit you will hopefully see some positive changes as we"tighten things up".

Kind regards

Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Visited midweek with my wife and 2 children (16 & 11). Had a choice of eating in the bar or restaurant area and decided to eat in the restaurant area. Very quiet for when we were there, 6pm. Staff very pleasant and friendly. I decided to go with the meat feast platter, it is a sharing platter, however when I have had sharing meals before, they only manage to feed 1. Not on this occasion, if you do have a big appetite you will be fine, for those that do decide to share it is well worth it (see photo). My wife had a kebab, eldest had fish and chips, and the youngest had spaghetti Bolognese from the kids menu. Drinks were priced reasonably as you would find in a pub of this type. We all enjoyed our meals, would recommend the establishment I will visit again in the future.

1  Thank Mooro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury A, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your visit and will be coming again here soon. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I took two friends here for Christmas dinner, they had never been before. It was excellent the tables were set out with party poppers crackers etc.
The food was lovely it was very tasty hot and cooked to perfection. Each course was the same and the service was great. staff friendly and the place has an excellent atmosphere. Both my friends loved it and want to go again soon. Cant say enough about this place and its good value for money and lovely surroundings. Well done keep it up

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jude E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The place looks a lot smaller from the outside. Inside the large rooms are made up nicely. We attended 4pm on New Year’s Day and was very quiet, there was a not so nice smell about the place. On asking what it was we were told it could be the open fires but the smell was rather fishy. Service was ok, there were 8 in our party and the waitress started collecting the unused wine glasses and didn’t collect all of them so when our starters came there wasn’t much room to put food down. Then parts of our starters were dropped on the floor and not cleaned up for about 10mins, floor staff were just stepping over the mess. My wife and I had the steak to share (£45) the waiter said medium rare, we said just medium. Waiter said yes medium, it was like he was just guessing. Everything on our share board was hot apart from the steak, that was luke warm and looked like warm.
When using the toilets you had to go through what looked like a store room for tables and chairs as they were all stacked up!!
Would I return or recommend???? Not sure but the other family we went with have been here numerous times so might of been just one of those times????

1  Thank AdeHump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury A, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies that your first experience here was not up to our usual standard. We take all comments and feedback seriously and the points that you have made will be passed on and improvements will be made going forward. I do hope that you decide to pay us a further visit as your family have in the past and we will prove that this was just one of those times and that our food and service is of our usual high standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Always a good atmosphere and the staff are lovely. I have been several times and not disappointed. I went today and had the best pea risotto ever. This place is full of atmosphere and well furnished. An open fire just adds to the ambience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrewsbury Arms also viewed

Albrighton, Shropshire
Albrighton, Shropshire
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Shrewsbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing