We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Machines”
Review of Banbury Museum

Banbury Museum
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Banbury Museum! We are a family friendly museum located in Banbury’s town centre, next to the idyllic canal side. The Civil War, plush manufacturing, the Victorian market town, costume from the 17th century to the present day, Tooley’s Boatyard and the Oxford Canal, are just some of the stories illustrated in the museum. There are also regularly changing exhibitions and activities to ensure that there is always something new to see and do
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The museum itself is interesting & the staff are lovely, however some of the history needs to be updated ( Alcan is no longer in existance etc...)
We paid £4 to visit the Marvellous Machines exhibition and were very disapointed (however it's good for children) as there were not many exhibits & a leaflet about them would have been helpful (we were handed a sheet with about 10 descriptions on) We spent under 20 minutes there.
So, yes, go to the museum & if you have curious children go to Marvellous Machines.

Thank Ripper2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio F, Public Relations Manager at Banbury Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Ripper2016 - I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy the exhibition - from your description I'd guess you cam in the first couple of days of its opening - we've significantly increased the descriptions since.

Thanks for being generous with your review despite your bad experience. If you would like complimentary tickets to our next exhibition ( which the Ashmolean are curating with us, so I'm confident will be well labelled! ), please just let me know.

Kind Regards,
Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"local history"
in 18 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 23 reviews
"castle quay"
in 14 reviews
"tourist information"
in 5 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 11 reviews
"free entry"
in 6 reviews
"grayson perry"
in 2 reviews
"canal side"
in 6 reviews
"modern building"
in 3 reviews
"interactive bits"
in 2 reviews
"civil war"
in 8 reviews
"well laid out"
in 3 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating facts"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018

I love to visit local museums, so to understand the history of the area. I was pleasantly surprised with is small but good museum. It explains the history of Banbury, and compliments this small but pleasant town.

Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio F, Public Relations Manager at Banbury Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thankyou Howlo - We're glad to have surprised you! Reviews like yours are so important ot local museums, so I hope you continue to explore them, and let the world know what you think. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

I say surprise as we didn't know it was here. A little gem that had a small art exhibition on. I feel it could have more to it, but it is free of charge and has a lovely tourist information gift shop in building with some beautiful things. It is a lovely little space with a cafe to stop for breath whilst shopping and take time out for a culture wonderful.

1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio F, Public Relations Manager at Banbury Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thankyou Diane - we're so glad you enjoyed your visit. We feel it could have more to it too - we're working on building a big extension - do come back in a couple of years and visit it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

For a small museum this has a lot to offer the children, especially in the holidays as there are always great exhibitions and activities for the children. Great location by the canal with the cafe over looking it. Our boys always enjoy time spent there

1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio F, Public Relations Manager at Banbury Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thankyou Joanna! That means everything to us. We hope we'll see you all again for Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

A small museum but with lots of history relating to Banbury, the weaving, nursery rhyme etc. Some lovely items on display especially the loom showing how the weaving was done.

1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio F, Public Relations Manager at Banbury Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thankyou - we're so glad you enjoyed coming here. Would a workshop / demonstration of loom weaving be of interest to you? We're hoping to run one later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banbury Museum also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Banbury Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing