We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,374)
Filter reviews
3,376 results
Traveler rating
558
951
800
584
483
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
951
800
584
483
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomgrand old hotelgrand staircasesweeping staircasegroupon dealcourse mealbuffet stylebit datedopera houseshort breaklovely viewfull englishgrandeurchandelierscharacterderbyshire
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 3,376 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have stayed here several times before but certainly won’t stay again. We arrived at our room on a Friday night at about 7.30pm, as we entered the room we were hit by the heat in the room, you couldn’t turn the radiator down as there were no valves and the window would only open a small amount. We decided to go straight out thinking it might cool down later. I went into the bathroom and the toilet was filthy, obviously not cleaned at all, dried urine on the seat and something smeared down the front of the toilet bowl. My husband went straight down to reception to complain and while he was out I looked at the bed, the bedding hadn’t been changed and there was a single mattress protector on a double bed. We were offered the last available room which we went to look at. That was just as hot and there was no window in the room or bathroom, it was really claustrophobic. We decided to stay where we were and they were going to get the room cleaned while we were out. We came back at 1am and the room hadn’t been cleaned or the bedding changed. We spoke to the night porter and there was a room available which he gave us, it was a large spacious and clean room.

We have complained to the hotel via the appropriate channels but have had no reply, hence this review.

The hotel needs totally refurbishing, there are large cracks all around the hotel and everything is very tired.

The breakfast is your usual buffet breakfast, not very hot and very poor quality products.

Room Tip: Don’t have one of the new compact rooms
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Foxfield1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a sad reflection of what was obviously a fine hotel. The room was tired - dirty curtains and windows, chipped wash bowl, cracked tiles. Room was stifling even with a opened window and radiator off Towel rail in the bathroom was so hot that I actually burnt myself. There are warnings but there is no way to turn the rail down!. Dinner on the last day was disastrous. Had to call the waiter twice to obtain service (others having come after were being served first) finally 'lost it' and sent for the manager saying if, after waiting almost half an hour, our main meal was not on the table within ten minutes we would leave. Meal duly arrived in time. In fairness, the food when it did arrive was very nice and, in the event, we were not charged for the meal. But we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Titch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel on Good Friday and had received emails confirming our booking the week before. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they had overbooked and had no rooms remaining. They phoned a few hotels in the area and told us only one hotel had availability and then washed their hands of us. It was late and we had a 2 year old with us who was already extremely tired. We went to the hotel that they had recommended, at 11 o'clock at night to find that it was dirty, so we rang around and found 1 room at a nearby hotel and had to make do. I have since found out that the Palace Hotel should have found a hotel for us, made the booking and paid the difference as this was all their mistake. I would advise others to avoid this hotel as the service provided was abysmal.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Ayesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

There is so much wrong with this place that could easily be fixed. Poor quality renovations where they are happening, dirty plates at a Luke warm barely cooked breakfast, things hanging off the walls, the ceiling and it's unclean. We had booked spa treatments too ... Trust me, don't. It's a long time since I've been anywhere and gagged at the showers. Utterly filthy. I didn't brave the pool. In fact it made me feel so repulsed i couldn't wait to get home and didn't even have the cream tea and prosecco that was part of the deal. Very sad.

Room Tip: Stay at the Premier Inn instead
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was a reasonably priced break in this hotel which really needs updating for todays needs. We thought the dinner was mediocre and the breakfast rather poor. We can understand the vast expense of modernising such a large hotel but something needs to be done to encourage repeat business in this charming Derbyshire town.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews