We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu weekday lunch”

Rocksalt Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocksalt Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 254 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Delighted to get a window table in this delightfully positioned restaurant. It’s light and airy and just a good space all round. Staff is welcoming and good service with lots of bread for the table and a delicious homemade taramasalata as a complimentary nibble. The food is tasty and well seasoned and there is a good wine and beer selection. My reason for 4 not 5 is I think the Dover sole should have had some modicum of garnish, I dared to try the potted cockles (not to be repeated) and the buttery mash side tasted like it had been standing a while and was a bit overworked and stiff. Everything else was delicious. We will rerun again

Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many thanks for your review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our homeward journey as we’d had a great experience at a sister venture Duke William. What a stunning location. Over hanging the harbour with spectacular views you don’t normally associate with England, we could have been back in the Rocks, Sydney. We only had some croissants (freshly baked) and coffee but we’ll be back. Looked at the rooms, small but beautifully formed.

Worth a day trip from London.

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Went here for a romantic meal over Easter weekend. Very fancy and certainly not cheap but well worth the money. The staff were so welcoming and very efficient during the meal, we had a lovely table by the window and the meal was nicely paced - not too slow or rushed. Naturally we had various fish dishes for starters and main with some paprika fries and purple sprouting broccoli on the side. Complimentary bread and dips and well topped up with both tap water and wine! Had some delicious desserts to and was pleasantly surprised that when it came to the bill, the waiter not only pointed out the service charge they add on but that it was very much optional. All in all a great evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Taken a while to finally eat here and from the feedback should have got here sooner.
Sat at our table and ignored on arrival for 15 minutes despite several ‘I’ll get my colleague’ brush offs from staff when requesting a drink. Drinks were slow and we were positively frowned at when asking where our drinks were when the waitress wanted to take our food order.
Pan fried cod was undercooked but other dishes ok.
Manager asked if we were enjoying our meal but was already looking at the next table she was going to fly-by before the answered arrived.
Only great service was from a youngster bringing appetisers and then cheese at the end of the meal. Maybe other staff could learn from her enthusiasm and engagement, desiring to create an experience.
Planned to stay longer but in the end went for a drink in the Harbour Inn across the road (great service!)
Just because Rocksalt has a fantastic location, doesn’t mean it can be lacking in all other areas.

2  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many thanks for your review.

We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated.

We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Good food and great location , good service but no walk ins which is mad , have the meat dish steak , lush

Thank coastalrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many thanks for your review.

We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We would like to confirm that we take walk ins everyday for every service, unless we are already fully booked.

We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocksalt Restaurant also viewed

 
Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to Rocksalt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing