We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$98
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$98
View deal
Official HotelUS$104
CheapTickets
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
265
242
93
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
265
242
93
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive shearings break bay hotel dining room evening meal national holidays buffet breakfast turkey and tinsel upgraded room entertainment every night monday to friday premier room public rooms the hotel is clean kippers plenty of choice night break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel for only one night as we was travelling from York and wanted to experience the sea side town.
The hotel was cheaper than majority of the hotels near by and had good reviews.
On first entrance it looks lovely, the staff are friendly and the dining hall is really nicely decorated.
Our room was a basic one double bed which we booked. Only issue we had was the on suite needed a bit of work. The shower curtain didn’t stop the water going out onto the floor. The sealant round the toilet was old as when you flushed the water leaked out.
Weirdly we had a loft hatch in the bathroom, which had black finger marks on the white paint where someone had gone in a couple of times. Bit worrying.

Our main issue came in the evening, we were first awoken by the army of seagulls which I guess can’t be helped due to location but we were then awoken again by scratching and crawling sounds in the walls and ceiling. We can only assume that these were very large rodents as we were on the third floor. Actually
made my girlfriend want to get up and leave at 5 in the morning.

Personally we won’t be staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank joyoung90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth Janicki, General Manager at New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi joyoung90
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see you had problems during the night with noises in your room. Indeed the seagulls are at the moment in large numbers nesting on the majority of buildings in town and we have our own fair share of them on our roof. Due to the various roof types I have (pitch, flat, dormor) the noise they make can travel quite a way. The loft hatch in the bathroom is purely for access to the water tanks which require checking regularly and apologise that some dirty fingerprints had been left on it. I have also noted the other issues you had with your bathroom and will be reviewing with my Maintenance Team
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself, my mum and my daughter stayed here for four nights. We had an amazing time. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. We had a few niggles about the food arriving to the table and the manager went above and beyond. The hotel is lovely and the family room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was really comfy after a lot of walking in the day! The entertainment on the Tuesday night was great and my daughter enjoyed the singing. Paul the singer was very good. The entertainment on Thursday wasn’t so good unfortunately. It is near everything you need and a short walk to the trams for the beach. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back soon. 10/10 please pass on our thanks to all the staff.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C6241JGdaniellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth Janicki, General Manager at New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi C64241JGdaniellel

Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review - it is greatly appreciated. It was lovely to meet you all and I am so glad we managed to sort the little niggles out whilst you were here (as well as having a few natters) and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to my team.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On arrival we were met by a very cheery receptionist who booked us in quickly and also sorted out parking for us. Rooms were clean and tidy with good towels and good quality bathing products good complimentary tray .We couldn't fault any of the staff and the food was good.We only seen the entertainment on Tuesday night and he was great with the kids ,a good all-round entertainer,overall a good short holiday at a great price.We will be back thanks again

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth Janicki, General Manager at New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Keith L
What a kind review - thankyou. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Paul Tilley (the Entertainer) is a great all rounder and always makes sure he includes all his audience - regardless of age.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Stayed last night, didn't book parking but on checking in the lady explained that for £1 you could park in the surrounding roads and could leave our cars all day. There were 8 of us in our group and I had messed up on booking correct number of guests staying, the lady on reception, (didn't get her name) went above and beyond to sort something out for us. Room had everything needed and the bed was so comfy. We would definitely return here in the future if visiting Scarborough

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth Janicki, General Manager at New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi DeniseH
I am so glad we were able to sort your reservation when you got here - we will always do out best :) and thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review for us.
We hope to maybe see you all again soon
Kjnd Regards
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We have just done our first self drive to shearings new southland Hotel scarborough, great very well and all was explained. Food excellent, rooms clean and tidy. Would recommend it to anyone who wish to have a break.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank S6745URshirleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth Janicki, General Manager at New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi S6745URshirleya
We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your recent self drive break staying with us and appreciate you leaving your kind comments.
We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews