We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
414
137
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
137
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar dan megan large conservatory sea front warm welcome the ground floor lovely hotel overlooking the garden town centre superior room pretty garden patio doors this family run hotel feel very welcome friendly owners few minutes walk wonderful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Enjoyed the weekend staying here, location is ideal for the seafront, friendly family run hotel. breakfasts and dinner freshly cooked and ample. Newly decorated, large lounge conservatory with TV and Bar. Will certainly drop by again.

Room Tip: Room 17 was ideal for us if you don't mind stairs. Comfortable standard double with nice view over rear garden.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Lovely, comfortable hotel to meet family for an 80 th birthday celebration. Very warm, lovely breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble. Very welcoming , I would thoroughly recommend it. The superior rooms are a great size and some of the rooms are on the ground floor, we found this ideal for one of our family who has mobility problems.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, it was a great size and on the ground floor making it easy for family who have mobility problems.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Once we'd parked in the Woodlands car park, that's where the car stayed. Everything we needed was in walking distance. Our room was gorgeous, luxurious and very clean. The bed was heavenly, I felt I was sleeping on a cloud! The garden is charming and we could have stepped out to it from our room, being January was the reason we didn't.

The owners and staff were really friendly and welcoming, our food requirements were met with no problems and a genuine interest was taken in our satisfaction. We had in tow our dog, who was greeted with the same warmth we were.

The family seem to love what they do and it reflects well in their hospitality.
See you again - The Scannells.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xxxhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We held a Christmas Lunch at the Woodlands. Food was lovely, good selection of vegetables and well cooked (not pre-sliced meat but proper turkey); nice trimmings too. Christmas Pudding with the Brandy Cream was lovely. Pretty hotel with a relaxing and congenial atmosphere. Dan & his staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended. Good coffee too! Well worth a visit - Thankyou.

Room Tip: Just ask and am sure the hotel will accommodate
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

My wife & I were visiting family for Xmas and we could not have chosen a better place to stay for the period. We stayed here a few years ago under previous owners and we have noticed the reviews upturn quickly under Dan & Megan in the last few months. Having now sampled their hospitality, we can understand why the reviews are so positive.
If you stay here, and we suggest that you should, you will find a warm, family type welcome, the hotel is full of character and is bright and clean, the rooms are maintained very well, the breakfasts are hearty and you quickly feel at home and comfortable.
Dan & Megan are warm & welcoming hosts who deserve the Woodlands to succeed as a business and be full of happy, contented people. That being said, not as full as to stop us staying there when we come down again.
Thank you for a great stay, Dan & Megan.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank PandJBrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews