We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
80
54
17
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
54
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room queen victoria steeped in history grade listed building cheese selection nice swimming pool historical building small gym short walk to seafront hotel offer quaint hotel good sized en suite family room old fashioned hotel serves lovely old building plenty of storage
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We stayed at The Royal Glen Hotel for a couple of nights and stayed in the Elizabeth Suite. The room was large with plenty of storage and lots of space with two chairs and a sofa. The bathroom is very modern with walk-in wet room shower as well as a bath.
This hotel is very historic and is a lovely step back in time and the staff were very friendly.
We did eat in on one night and the food was very good indeed and very reasonably priced as was the wine menu.
All in all a lovely place to stay and very close to the seafront and all the shops of Sidmouth.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank BusPassHolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for making a review. We are pleased that one of our largest rooms was comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Glen and hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We have visited Sidmouth many times and have stayed in various places, but this is our third stay at the Royal Glen and I’m sure it won’t be our last. The staff are very friendly and always ready to please. Breakfast has lots of choices and evening meal is very good value. We will be returning.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JaneC2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for making a review, we have great pleasure in welcoming back our returning visitors ; they are very much part of 'the Glen'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

There are some real positives about this place, it’s a lovely old building, it has a quirky lay out, it’s in a great location and the staff were very polite and helpful. However to charge £200 a night for a family room is excessive when the room is so dated. Now of course you can embrace the age of a property and make it a selling feature but this place has really not been given any respect or investment. The room we stayed in was not well maintained, windows didn’t close properly, paintwork was peeling off, lights and electrics were doing something very odd.

It is interesting that the rooms don’t appear to have been maintained as the public areas are still from an earlier era, but still look great. The drawing room, for example, is an absolute joy.

There are other details that are irritating, the heating being on, the very poor in room drinks facilities and the gym facilities that have been serviced in years.

Breakfast appeared superficially good, excellent coffee, but food was not great at all. Was mostly over-cooked and really not at the standard I’d expect for the cost.

Thankfully we only planned a single night stay as we wouldn’t have wished to start longer despite the good intentions of the staff involved.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Caq73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for making a review. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am a little concerned about your observation about the electrics as I don't understand what this was and it would have been helpful to know which room and what occurred. This small family business has re invested every year back into the business and have every intention to continue however we do not have any large corporate group finance to help keep such a challenging building standing. The windows are a continual challenge as they can only be wood single casement because of listing and its even difficult to get a tradesman to paint them but M in charge of maintenance has got a system he takes them out to paint and repair. We are pleased you enjoyed the Drawing Room this was decorated last winter and we do seriously endeavour to update but not take away from the character of the house and this is done in the bedrooms as well; in the wing furnishings are more contemporary as this is not part of the old house. There will be the ongoing next round of refurbishing this November. We do take note of reviews and listen to our Guests many who we get to know very well. As custodians we are committed to keep updating without taking away the intrinsic character of the house and want to share that with Visitors who come to visit our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Really friendly hotel, very welcoming to our two young children who thoroughly enjoyed the pool. Fantastic food, very fresh with lots of choice. The rooms are lovely and very clean, our room had a recently refurbished bathroom. Staff really make the hotel, everyone is very friendly and helpful. Dogs could stay too.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank lmunromorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The two lady owners of this quaint hotel do very well with their staff, and umpteen levels to cope with the ageing structure. Nothing is too much trouble the rooms are dated, but comfortable, the bathrooms are bang up to date with a fantastic shower. The breakfasts offer a very full choice from light to full English and includes kippers and poached haddock too. There is no air conditioning, so our room got hotter by evening, still the windows opened to cure that. We had to go to the bar or sitting room most days for Wi-Fi, but a small niggle. The pool was lovely and well used without being too busy. There is a gym too. There is just enough car parking, but some spaces are tight. There is a small outside sitting area and very sloping garden too. The bar and restaurant are very good too. Dinner three courses is £28.50 without drinks and choices change each night -you can have less courses. My biggest problem was with the over soft beds, but my wife slept well. It is all a matter of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for three days in the Royal Glen, despite some little faults due to the age of the building, very relaxing and quiet despite young families being there.

Room Tip: Room no 12 suffers from wi fi access and got a little too warm in the evening.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIDMS20050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for making a comprehensive review. We are experiencing technical problems with the updated super fast broadband which hasn't seemed to improve anything, we are awaiting further technical help it seems to be mystifying even 'technos'. It may be if we are going to experience lovely Summer weather every year that we will have available more fans, but i'm afraid air conditioning here will be beyond our grade 1 listing allowance but we are lucky to be able to open our windows, opposite problem in winter they let in too much air of course. We hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews