We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
103
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
103
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub swimming pool local pub welcoming hosts lovely treat wonderful visit knebworth house friendly place to stay breakfast was delicious minute walk brocket hall attending a wedding jane vernon conservatory summerhouse ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

A lovely restful place to stay!!This is a second visit for us. Jane and Vernon are so welcoming and helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble! The breakfast is beautifully cooked and presented and at this time of tbe year eaten in the conservatory.The garden is great for both adults and children with beautiful plants and flowers together with views of the surrounding countryside .
I would really recommend Christmas Cottage to all.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Seaside34647529433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2019

We received a voucher for weekend away at a boutique high class b & b in deepest Bedfordshire.

On arrival we were greeted personally by our host and hostess, who spared no effort to spoil and entertain us from arrival to departure. Amazing accommodation, brilliant garden - beautifully tended by resident gardeners Myrtle and Julie- whilst the gin and tonics were prepared by barman Kevin.

Dinner was a delight. Smoked trout prepared with exquisite salad and amazing wine followed by shoulder of lamb cooked to perfection and accompanied by a sublime Cabernet Sauvignon that was impossible to resist.

The best ever baked cheesecake with fruit and a choice of toppings was then served along with a vintage Grains Noble de la Truffiere and finally a cheeseboard.

As if this was not enough, breakfasts/brunch were American Style pancakes and fruit for breakfast and an amazing shakshuka brunch and a personal local guide around the area.

The weekend felt like a whole weeks holiday. Heaven in a weekend and a precious treat for those who can find the secret hideaway.

We cannot wait to go back and have allocated Six stars rating.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper007x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Jane and Vernon are the most delightful couple who own a beautiful cottage set in what can only be described as a little bit of paradise. I stayed in the Summerhouse overlooking a beautiful pool and English country garden. I was made t feel so welcome and I had the added pleasure of meeting 2 of their daughters and grandsons.
I cannot recommend this little treasure of a B&B enough! Thank you
Ruth

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank c0lumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We chose this place as we were doing a local cycle event close by. Perfect setting, lovely gardens to wander in, has easy parking, great restaurant in walking distance and a lovely host, nothing too much effort. Would return.

Room tip: Loved the poolside room, this one is OK for pets.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

Jane and Vernon are very welcoming hosts and Christmas Cottage is a lovely place to stay. The beds are very comfortable, the cottage is full of character, breakfasts are delicious and the pool and hot tub are added luxuries. The grounds and garden are lovely and we enjoyed eating at one of the local pubs, The Waggoners. This was an ideal place to stay while attending a wedding at Brockett Hall.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SLCHLeeds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews