We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Royal Lochnagar Distillery
from US$567.16
More Info
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
862
167
30
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
862
167
30
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide great tour wee dram distilling process balmoral castle whisky making classic malts whole process small group tasting room traditional methods whisky production making process beautiful setting queen victoria annie distilleries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

Brilliant distillery tour yesterday afternoon. Each process was explained thoroughly with bits of history thrown in by our enthusiastic hostess Annie and guide which made it very interesting. The sampling of four whiskies well described and in generous proportion confirmed our preferred spirit. Take a taxi and enjoy! However, a driver's pack is provided if required.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank WAvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021

Excellent tour and tasting at the distillery. Gordon M was a very knowledgeable guide and it was great to see the distillery in action.

The drivers’ takeaway bottles are a great benefit - in fact all of our group took advantage after a small sip (bit early in the day for four nips!). We had a great evening finishing off the delicious whisky.

Given the whiskies tasted, it was definitely value for money.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

A very enjoyable tour in a beautiful area. Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting, lots of great facts and stories. A lovely touch are the little bottles to take away the samples for the ‘designated drivers’, very thoughtful and much appreciated. We are now enjoying the bottle we bought and will definitely visit again when in the area.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Our tour guide Annie was awesome. Her knowledge and passion for whisky, the brand & Lochnagar shone through.

The tasting session was relaxed and informative. A whisky for all tastes.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank V4720HHjoyceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Annie the fabulous tour guide & distillery expert gave a plethora of goodies & knowledge bombs regarding the process of how they source the 3 essential ingredients and the traditional ways they make the amazing whiskey produced at the distillery. Watch out for the 175th anniversary whiskey at the end, that 53% stuff will knock your tash clean off! All the whiskey tasted incredible. Worth every penny & would definitely recommend

Date of experience: September 2021
2  Thank Jme171
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews