We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”

The Earl Of Strafford
Ranked #22 of 349 Restaurants in Rotherham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional home cooked food, bar, celebration venue for birthdays, wedding anniversaries, work meetings, weddings and funerals, live music, extensive drinks menu. Function room available
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Saturday 30th June 2018
First time visit, excellent food, first class efficient and professional service from Amy. I will look forward to our next visit.

From Mrs B. Lamkin and friends.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Spike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello Mrs Lamkin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and I’ll cdrtainly pass your comments onto Amy.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

I tried the braised beef in a Yorkshire pudding, I was amazed at the size of it, definatley will be returning. Our waitress Kira helped us when we were sending her back and forth for multiple things and she was still as kind as ever to us.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank suelovell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Sue. Thank you for the kind review. I’m very please you enjoyed your visit with us and I’ll pass your comments onto the team. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Visited today party of three for late lunch...I chose chilli con carni with basmati rice could not have chosen better- best meal out I’ve had in ages well done Daniel perfection will be back for more.....

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank sc1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello.

Thank you for the kind review. It certainly is a great dish. It’s being revamped also in two weeks time.

Hope to see you again very soon and I’ve passed your comments into our chef Dan.

Kind regards
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Visited today on the spur of the moment for ‘a bit of lunch’ and ended up with 3 courses and coffee! Food was delicious and the staff were lovely - Julie especially made us feel welcome and was very helpful when it came to ordering our food (some of us were a little picky). The place is lovely and clean, the service was great and we weren’t rushed through our courses nor were we sat waiting for too long either. Will definitely be visiting again (and again!)

Oh and the Bread & Butter pudding is delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank JenLove14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Jen. Thanks for the great review. Julie is a star! Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

I’ve been here a number of times and always enjoyed it but this is the first visit in a long time. The place itself is lovely and the staff couldn’t be friendlier. We were greeted by a lovely lady (Julie) and she was so helpful and accommodating. The food was amazing, what started out as a bit of a spontaneous bite to eat out ended up as a 3 course meal and a coffee to follow. My sister and cousin are notoriously picky/fussy but no request was too much. We all opted for salads (as it was a glorious day) and each one was well presented and the meat/fish that came with it was lovely. We all agreed it won’t be our last visit. The outside seating at the front was an added bonus as it’s a little sun trap, so after dinner we even managed to work on our tans

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank MrsB2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello thank you for your kind review. I’ve passed this into Julie and I’m ever so please your enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Earl Of Strafford also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Earl Of Strafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing