We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
63
31
14
16
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
63
31
14
16
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off street parking mobility scooter five minute walk spacious room enjoyable stay nothing is too much trouble paul onsite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed here beginning of September 2021 and found it to be very welcoming. Paul and Lynn were very friendly. The rooms were clean with a fridge. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice and quantity. Dave the barman was very chatty. All in all a very enjoyable stay will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank J495QXlesleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

We arrived at the guest house and were very disappointed with our room, all four of us decided we could not sleep one night there. The sheets on the kids beds were bitty flannelette and kids found jelly beans under the bed, the TV was about 14", the wardrobe for 4 of us was a rail with 5 hangers on it (no wardrobe as advertised). The bathroom was like something out of the 60s, a very small shower with old fashioned curtain - very basic. Room not as expected. We had no alternative but to leave and find another room. This room is in URGENT need of renovation.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank andreawR2228XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

My elderly mum whent here with her daughter and granddaughter for a week, £3 a can of Carling, tiles in room falling of showing electrical wiring as soon as it rained water came through so they had a bin put under it, and because they ask to see the owner who does not live in he gets people to come in at certain times, he told her to leave 2 days early ruining a family holiday, I would never stay here, LOSER.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank deanandvictoria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Goodall, Owner at Clarendon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Your mother did nothing but complain since arriving and with attitude. the internet was down and we had an engineer coming the next day, at 9am she's asking if its fixed. there was a leak due to extreme weather the wires mentioned are actual hold the suspended ceiling up and are not live, we took a ceiling tile down as it was damaged and replaced it when the rain stopped. It is a new roof and we have someone coming out to look at it. your mother was demanding times and dates. they booked an extra night on arrival so they didn't actually leave 2 days early and they was given a refund. As for the bar prices its a pint can and £3 is a reasonable price.
As for the state the bathroom was left I cannot believe that 3 women would leave it in the condition. Faeces on the floor on the wall and all over the toilet seat. (I have taken photos), she said it was like that when she came, I think if that was true the internet would not of been her first complaint. When questioned about the bathroom she couldn't even look at me.
We are pleased that they will not be returning, stumbling in drunk shouting COMPENSATION through the bar door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2021

Arrived at this hotel after a harrowing experience elsewhere, to be met at the door by the lovely Denise, who quickly arrived us in and organised our room keys and welcome pack. Room 7 was small, but comfortable and clean. Once settled we headed to the bar which was reasonably priced and welcoming. Next morning we had the most amazing full english cooked by the owner,Paul. On returning later we were entertained by the brilliant Dave the barman. Everybody in this great establishment made us feel like one of the family
Many thanks from Gil and Wendy

Room tip: Room 7 had a terrace with a smoking area
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tillmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Room 8 was clean but attention to detail is needed.internet is Very poor.tv is small and the signal is VERY bad..shower has Very low pressure and takes 5minutes to get luke warm...no extractor in room..fridge hardly works.bed light does not have a buld fitted.room needs small details finished correctly as there is a bit of detailing as seen in photo's

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank markW9765FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Goodall, Owner at Clarendon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

The real reason for this review is because you wanted your money back because it was raining, you booked via booking.com and you cant leave a review on there as they have seen all the nasty, vile messages you sent me demanding your money back and lying saying you only stopped 1 night, you cancelled your booking whilst here thinking you would get a refund, when you realised you wouldn't you stopped for your duration. You have been reported for misconduct so you will not be able to book again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews