We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal ever!”
Review of The Cliff

The Cliff
Ranked #40 of 390 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Close to the sea, The Cliff in Poole is a stylish, inviting and comfortable space where you can enjoy a delicious menu of classic British dishes that are perfect for all occasions. Specialising in premium dining, The Cliff is situated by Canford Cliff and is only a short stroll up the beach from Bournemouth Pier or Sandbanks, meaning it is ideally placed to allow you to enjoy a great dining experience in a truly special setting. The interiors found inside The Cliff embrace minimalistic design, with a healthy dose of beach-inspired focal points that capture the magic of the area. Close to the sea, there are two separate sides of this inviting bar, restaurant and pub. Featuring a unique dining space where you can enjoy a vast selection of freshly prepared dishes, as well as a private dining space that is perfect for accommodating a whole host of special occasions including birthdays, anniversaries and engagements, The Cliff is sure to meet your dining requirements.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Went to the Cliff yesterday to celebrate my birthday - what a mistake! The surroundings inside the pub are quite pleasant. However, the food left much to be desired! I ordered the deep fried BRIE as a starter and I couldn’t eat eat it! It was encased in what can only be described as thick ‘stodge’! It was awful. Consequently, I didn’t have a starter. I then ordered the fish finger sandwich with chips as my main course. Again, this didn’t look appertaining and didn’t taste appertaining either! My chips (skinny) were undercooked and my Husband’s twice baked chips were burnt! The fish finger sandwich had no taste to mention - all in all a memorBle birthday for the wrong reasons!

Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Ann P, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01202 492921 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

The Cliff used to be excellent, great food great staff. Things have changed lately and we used to eat here at least three times a month. My wife's chicken was obviously microwaved, the breast was very overcooked and its poor legs were rock hard. I think my fish was dead before it was caught, the tartar sauce was awful, good news the chips were fine.
There are plenty of places offering much better food at similar prices.
What a shame used to be great!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank watts9502018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to give us some feedback. It's a shame that after visiting us for more than eight years and hopefully having built a great relationship with myself and the team that you were unable to let us know during you'r visit that you were not happy with your meals.
As you are aware, We pride ourselves on great service and food and I am sorry to hear you felt let down in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Arrived for a meal on Easter Friday , went straight to the bar but no staff to be seen, 5 minute wait and we were served. Asked for a menu to be told that they had closed the Kitchen early, very annoying as we received a promotion email saying "We are counting down to a brilliant Bank Holiday"maybe brilliant for the staff as they are all leaving early. Why do they bother emailing regular clients with last service hours and then close the Kitchen early. Their loss word of mouth is an amazing thing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wattsrestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

HI Claire, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your visit on Friday, Our kitchen stays open until 10.30pm on Friday and Saturday's and sometimes later if we are expecting you and Andrew. On this occasion we closed the kitchen at 10.15pm for which I can only apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Ok m not vegan but decided to go for the vegan coconut curry. See photos it was basically sauce and solid rice. So they offered second option of a tart which had far pastry. Never mind eh !

Thank Dohertyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dohertyf, we regret to hear that your experience with us was not a more positive one.
The Vegan menu has proved very popular since we launched it in January and this is the first time we have had someone not enjoy it. We will re-look at the quality of the curry and tart and look at ways in which to enhance the presentation of the dishes. I would like to point out however the rice is a sticky rice and it's texture is somewhat different to long grain or Jasmin.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Have been enjoying this venue for many years, but not so on Tuesday 27 March. Lunch with two friends in a relatively empty restaurant at this time. Received very poor and indifferent service from sitting down until leaving the restaurant. First drinks took a long time to arrive. Menu selection another long wait and the waiter appeared to experience difficulties in noting the selections. Long waits for starters and main courses, with an even longer wait for someone to offer desserts. The same for the bill, which was placed on the table and the waiter had to be called for payment.
The menu hasn't changed in years and the fish selection is poor. Not cheap, however good quality food.
What a shame and will not be returning for a while.
What has happened guys?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarbellaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Marbellakaren, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.
I have passed your feedback onto the server that looked after you on the day and carried out additional training with the team to highlight the importance of looking after our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff also viewed

 

Been to The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing