We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accidental find”
Review of Isan Thai

Isan Thai
Ranked #26 of 382 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Description: Phil and Pornthip welcome you to Isan Thai Restaurant and Take Away located in Park Gates, Poole. Great tasting freshly prepared home cooked Thai food. This family run business opened in July 2016. Pornthip has grown up cooking Thai food for friends and family. She is passionate about producing good old fashioned home cooked dishes of restaurant quality!
Restaurant details
Description: Phil and Pornthip welcome you to Isan Thai Restaurant and Take Away located in Park Gates, Poole. Great tasting freshly prepared home cooked Thai food. This family run business opened in July 2016. Pornthip has grown up cooking Thai food for friends and family. She is passionate about producing good old fashioned home cooked dishes of restaurant quality!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came across this place by accident and after reading the TA reviews booked for dinner.

We loved the way the restaurant was presented and the authenticity of the food. This is not a generic franchise but a family who want to share this amazing cuisine and who do it really well. The younger members of the team can come across a little nervous but are genuinely wanting to provide the best experience.

I had ribs to start that just fell off the bone, really tender and moorish. The Thai Green Curry was packed with flavour and spicy hot as I had requested.

My partner is vegetarian so we asked if they could modify a dish for her and they accommodated without haste. The veggie spring rolls were hand made and very tasty. The noodles (vegan) tasted great and my partner really enjoyed them.

It is a great size restaurant creating a nice atmosphere. Larger groups may not get all their food out at the same time due to constraints in the kitchen but as long as you respect that the food is freshly made you will enjoy the experience.

It’s a shame we’re only in Poole for a week as we would definitely be regulars. We will however look forward to a return visit next year.

Thank guestm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsanThai, Owner at Isan Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to see you and welcome you to our restaurant. Hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for lunch as a family and we were delighted to be welcomed with a special lunch offer and friendly service. Food was excellent and authentic along with the atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone looking to find a locally run restaurant with great staff and food. Will definitely be returning

Thank Zayna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsanThai, Owner at Isan Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for great review it was nice to see you, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Isan Thai serves up authentic delicious dishes in a little gem of a restauran. We recently held my husbands surprise 50th Birthday party there and I can’t thank Phil and the team enough for making it a night to remember. All our friends and family loved the food and endless supply of Thai beer!! Oh and Phil makes a great liquor coffee to top off a fabulous meal :-)

Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsanThai, Owner at Isan Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for fantastic review Claire. It was a great evening with a great atmosphere created by you and your party. We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks again and see you soon hopefully. Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

The food was exquisite with authentic Thai flavours. I cannot wait to go again, I went for a green curry (a personal favourite so I set some very high standards) and it did not disappoint.

I've been told great things about this place by my work colleagues that at first I did not believe "how can it taste so good and be so cheap" I told them.

Great all round dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LHerbert94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsanThai, Public Relations Manager at Isan Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you for giving us 5 stars!!! We aim to impress and glad we did not disappoint you, it goes to show always trust your friends!! Pornthip and her team make some amazing curries and we hope to welcome you back to try another!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

I've been coming to Isan Thai with my Father and colleagues from work for a while now, i can honestly say i have never had a Thai better than Isan, the food is full of flavour, fresh and can have it made to a heat of your choice, which is a nice option to have. The portion size to price is 10/10, the Panang is my favourite dish, however been trying different dishes every time i come in and amazed each time. Looking forward to my next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eliot124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsanThai, Public Relations Manager at Isan Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you Eliot for your kind words it is so nice to hear we are your favourite Thai Restaurant!!
We work so hard to ensure our customers have a great dining experience with us and feedback like yours makes it so worth it! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isan Thai also viewed

 

Been to Isan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing