We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris john .”
Review of Mill

Mill
Ranked #11 of 64 Quick Bites in Eastbourne
Price range: US$349 - US$1,495
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the meal again last sun . Realy cannot fault it lovlly food . Friendly staff. Had a great time thankyou all Chris john

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank M7709OOchristineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi.

Thank you for leaving feedback.

I am glad you had a nice meal.

Kind Regards,

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a big family gathering, food was lovely all staff was so polite and very helpful. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Companion56528022060
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi.

Thank you for leaving feedback.

I am delighted that you and your family had a great time.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Mill last week whilst in Eastbourne, mainly attracted by previous good experiences at Hungry Horse establishments. Surprisingly thou that were virtually empty at approx 4.30pm we were told we should have booked and they weren't sure whether they could accommodate us , anyway they did unfortunately. Half the products on the menu were unavailable, no notices about shortages and not told in advance of this, we muddled through and chose our meals and drinks , and to be fair the drinks and starters arrived fairly quickly and although not great mushrooms overcooked and Halloumi fries very greasy. Main took over 45 minutes to arrive after we had the starters, and on ordering more drinks including Coca Cola we were served the soft drinks in a smaller glasses than previously yet charged the same.
When questioned about this the bar person called a lady who I assume was manager, she was quite abrupt and offish with us claiming the larger glasses were used if you had ice the smaller if you didn't , (never come across this before anywhere). This didn't make any sense as on both occasions we had ice in the drinks anyway, but apparently it the amount of cubes that matter, because as we all know they have time to count ice cubes into a glass on a bar . Anyway she was adamant she wasn't prepared to do anything about it.
Our mains eventually arrived, again not great,some was Luke warm , overcooked steak , small portions, and as it was curry night two large curries which were missing the dips, when queried they said they didn't have any, but we weren't told this beforehand and they charged us the same , Quick to argue about a couple of squirts of extra coke in a glass like we were trying it on ( which we weren't) , yet they were more than happy to short change us on the meals.
Overall the shortage of items on the menu, the slow service ,the mediocre food quality and the poor attitude of the manager means we would not return here even if in the area . Probably they realised we were tourists and they wouldn't care anyway , which is fair enough but for a chain establishment it makes us think twice about trying other Hungry Horse establishments elsewhere .

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi.

Thank you for your feedback.

I believe your partner has also reviewed leaving exactly the same feedback so I have already responded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only good thing was the pleasant waitresses who were getting it in the ear from disgruntled customers .
We gave it a second chance after recent visit when we waited 45 minutes for dessert, Today it was 50 minutes for first course for food which was poor with customers around us complaining about wait for the inferior food. And several dishes were off the menu, We won't be back in a hurry!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2009x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi.

Thank you for leaving feedback.

I am sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience. Yesterday was a tough day for the team with a couple having to
isolate due to COVID leaving 1 chef in the kitchen.

The whole industry is struggling with supply issues and a lot of items are not available, hence items missing off the menu.

I hope this goes some way to explain what happened.

Kind Regards,

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the worst dining experiences possible. We arrived to be told that food would take an hour. I assumed the place was busy, but only about 5 tables were occupied. When the food finally arrived, the fries were cold, the gammon was more like a bacon rasher and there was no pineapple and no onion rings. The staff were surly and blamed it on ordering via the app. If this is their idea of enticing people back to restaurants then it's not gonna work. Avoid. I mean it - avoid.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank johnbT4304CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John

I am sorry to read your experience.

Please contact me on 6358@greeneking.co.uk to discuss further.

Kind Regards,

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill also viewed

Polegate, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Hailsham, East Sussex
 

Been to Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.