We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
72
88
75
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
88
75
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful view hotel complex high quality beautiful nature nice resort cannot comment spa fjord golf conference sun interior concrete dancing intention corridor scenery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

My husband and I visited Kragerø Resort 13th-14th June. Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations and we think it's important to give feedback on it. We have emailed our feedback to the hotel twice and they have not responded.

I called in and booked the room the day in advance and said we had been happy for a room with a view. We were told that they would see what was available, which of course is all right. When we arrived we were given a room that did not have a view and where the sun had been on all day. It was hot and incredibly tight air. We called down to the front desk and asked if there was any fan / air conditioning but were told that they were controlling the temperature from the reception and that they could put it down so that it became colder in the room, but that we had to close the porch so that " it did not get hotter ". We did not think anything more about it and went to the spa and on to dinner.

When we arrived at dinner at. 20 (which you suggested as the best time in the restaurant), there was a party of about 100 people there. I think it's strange to place us so close in time with such a big company that took up a lot of space both physically and sound wise. We got a bottle of wine at the table which we did not ask for (we asked for a glass each) and the food came after approx. 5 minutes, which is too quick. The calf I ate was absolutely dry and the accessories that stood on the menu (potatoes I think) never came, despite asking me about it.

When we returned to the room and it was still as hot and bad air, we called again to the front desk. They told us there was nothing to do about the temperature, contrary t to what they had said before. Also, from the restaurant in the evening there was a lot of noise and noise right outside and we woke up by people who argued on the plate right outside our room (with the door open to the room because it was hot ). My husband went down at the front desk and asked for a fan so we could close the door and try to sleep and asked about late checkout the following day because both air quality and noise outside prevented sleep (here at about 01:30) . Then we were told to take it with the day staff and that there was nothing she could do.

All in all, this was an absolutely ok experience, but when we pay so much money for a day, we actually count on a nice room with good air quality, good food and good service from the staff. These things were missing and that was disappointing. There was also no internet in the room as described in advance.

Go to Farris Bad instead.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anette P, Hotellmedarbeider at Kragero Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018
Google Translation

Hei Kine

Tusen takk for konstruktiv og fyldig tilbakemelding. Vi setter veldig pris på at våre gjester tar seg tid til dette, da det hjelper oss i vårt arbeid med hele tiden og jobbe for å bli bedre.
Jeg må også beklage på det sterkeste at du ikke ble kontaktet av oss. Vår direktør har nå vært i samtale med deg, og vi håper vi kan ønske deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning.

Med vennlig hilsen

Anette Preiss
Kragerø Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The hotel is large. Really large! Finding your room can be like going through a labyrinth. When you reach your room, it might be large and airy, or small with no view. I had the latter type of room. Extremely dull. A colleauge of mine had a vastly better room, but still no view to speak about, other than to the grounds of the hotel.

The hotel complex itself is situated on top of a mountain, and the view out towards the fjord and surrounding are is spectacular!

There are spacious outdoor areas, but there is a lot of concrete, and it is grey and dull.
I guess it is always a matter of opinion, but to me it is all a bit bland...

The Breakfast is ok. Lunch better. Dinner, also ok.

I did not try out the golf possibilities. So I cannot comment on that.

If you are not a golf enthusiast, I guess this hotel is just ok. Not worth a visit on its own.

Room tip: Ask for a large room with a view to get the most out of it.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GentlemanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Nice resort in a beautiful nature, Kragerø Resort spa is for everyone, couple, friends and family with children.
Very friendly staff and helpful.
God breakfast
And an awesome spa zone, with great service.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Troner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anette P, other at Kragero Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hello Troner C, and thank you for your great review

I hope we can welcome you back to Kragerø Resort again another time

Best regards
Anette Preiss
Kragerø Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2017

From thFrom the start till the end it was surprisingly bad.
The room was really quite hard to find, as from reception You have to go on a second floor, then long way through the corridor, ten again stairs or elevator , going out through the yard , through parking and on the third floor you finally find your room. Especially, amazing when it is raining and windy.
We had to wait for entering the SPA ( you are coming to the SPA reception and they are saying that the spa is full and they will call you after it is available for entering) , SPA was crowded and extremely noisy. No place to relax, no place to swim, you have to wait a queue for sauna :) After you have to wait in a queue for shower.
The FOOD. Italian "A la carte" restaurant is offering burger, pizza and something called "Cesar salad" but gives you that with boiled cold chicken which even has a fat skin on it. Disgusting.
For the dinner get ready that it is going to be a buffet. And again queues! Reserve a table for not earlier than 20:00 this is the way you can avoid queues :) If not Miles who did his best to avoid my tears.
By the way , you are not able to choose the restaurant, because another nearest restaurant is min.30 minutes away from the hotel :)
Morning was also ruined. After the hard rain during the night, 1/3 of the restaurant was closed because of the leaking water from the roof so we were offered to take food from the buffet and go to eat in a conference hall. Amazing , a?
And finally the sleep : double room had just two single beds one next to other and with extremely soft mattresses and high pillows. We all came back with a pain in the back.e start till the end it was surprisingly bad.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mamutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anette P, Hotellmedarbeider at Kragero Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Mamutas
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative, helps us to see our product through the eyes of our guests and is highly valuable for us. I am sorry to hear that Your stay did not forfill Your expectaions. We know how important the Food is, and this is not our normal standard. We did also need to make a queuesystem for the Spa this evening, but that was just for a short period of time. Again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback – we would be more than happy to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Anette Preiss
Kragerø Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017

First of all, the Hotel location is the best in the region. Stunning sea view sunny all day long (when not raining) and some of the best that summer Norway can offer.
Accommodation is great with sizable rooms/suits, comfortable beds, Seaview from balcony, nice and tasteful furniture and quiet and relaxing woodland location.
Breakfast is ok, but nothing special except for the magnificent sea views from the restaurant overlooking the whole seabed, fjords and islands surrounding lovely Kragerø costal area.
You get tasty pizza in the lobby bar area (when offered).
The Hotell has a soothing atmosphere with nice architecture and furnishings.
Too bad the Swimmingpool area (I'm sorry to say) is not so well maintained and out of date. It needs a serious update with new colors, fixtures and furnitures. Should also have some more things to offer gusts in there to come up to international spa Hotell standard and the area should be expanded some more.
The beach club down by the waterfront is lovely and have a seasonal restaurant and sun bed area as well as changing rooms, toilets, showers and infrared cabins.
The Hotel also have 2 tennis courts and and an nice 18 hole golf course with a separate clubhouse that offer food and beverage and has a small pro shop.
Prices are on the steep side like everything else in Norway, but the value for money is not so bad considering other Hotels in the country.
All considered, we as a family have had yet another pleasant travel experience at this Hotel and will come back for sure (with the hope of experiencing an upgraded pool area and better breakfast experience).

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anette P, Hotellmedarbeider at Kragero Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello TronHK, and thank very much for Your great review.

We are looking forward to welcome You and Your Family back to Kragerø Resort

Best regards
Anette Preiss
Kragerø Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews