We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Michelin rated food at affordable prices”
Review of Loca

Loca
Ranked #20 of 4,792 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$62
Cuisines: Austrian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Loca. Casual Fine Dining. There is no dress code in the Loca. You should feel good, enjoy our menu and drink wonderful wine. Our fine dining menu will relax you. Be open minded. Loca offers a Chef's Choice 6-course menu. We put it together again at regular intervals. Maybe there is one or the other that you would not order. Trust us. Better eat better. Tell us about your intolerances or what you don't like when you make your reservation or on site. We are happy to act according to your wishes.
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

Great value set menu (no choice) with great cooking and friendly service. Started with a beef and papaya salad, followed by raw tuna with pumpkin and then cauliflower soup. Mains were a superb melt in the mouth salmon trout with lentils. The final savory dish was venison which was the only slightly weak dish of the night. Lacking in flavour and with vegetables which were just a little too ‘earthy’ it also took a long time to come out. The dessert got things back on track with a large chocolate cherry dish in a large glass, delicious! Overall it was excellent and the waiter Dennis was friendly and entertaining. Playlist was awesome, ‘all out 80s’ on Spotify. Only small gripe was service was a little show as the meal took nearly 3 hours but an excellent evening and would highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank beverleydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2021

Loca is the place where you get a great taste experience not very expensive. The dishes are varied and some of them quite large. The atmosphere is casual and the serving very friendly. The wines are exquisite and local from Austria. The flavors and components of the dishes are finely matched and well prepared. All in all, exclusive for little money.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg Spreitzer, Owner at Loca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Der Heidi J, thank you for the nice review and that you point out our good quality/price ratio we are very proud of. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

My wife and I heard about Loca online and were excited about having a chef choose our menu for the evening. We arrived and Dennis, the waiter seated us right away. Throughout the entire 6 course meal, wine was paired for each dish. Dennis explained each course, and provided a little background for each wine paired. It was amazing! The food was original and delicious. The service was second to none. If you are in Vienna, Loca restaurant is a must

Date of visit: October 2021
2  Thank Tas14291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg Spreitzer, Owner at Loca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Dear Tas14291, thank you very much for the nice review. Dennis and the whole Loca. team is happy to read your experience. Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

We arrived to the restaurant and ordered a 6 course tasting meal.

Most of the dishes were great but unfortunately one our desserts was not good at all (in our opinion) .
When we addressed the waiter regarding that issue we were met with an absurd and almost “insulted” like reaction.
As we asked to change the dish and were answered with a firm and unwelcoming decline.

Over all, a bad ending to a good, but overly priced meal.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Avshal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg Spreitzer, Owner at Loca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Dear Avshal1, of course we do respect bad reviews about our restaurant as we are not always perfect even if we try hard.
I do sincerely apologize if you had a bad ending of your evening. From our point of view we tried to offer you a solution. Maybe it was wrong to offer you the specially made dessert from your wife for extra payment additionally to the innovation of an Austrian specialty called “Schwarzwälder Kirsch”. We will think about how we will handle it in the future. We hope with your critics we can become better for the future.
We are happy that the other courses have been to your pleasure and it was just one dessert you did not like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2021

Took the 6 course menu with wine pairing. My wife is vegetarian while I eat everything.
All of the dishes were very performed very good and the wine pairing was excellent.
Two dishes that were better than the rest were the cauliflower soup, and the veal on mushrooms.
The cauliflower soup was a new taste for me, and the veal brought up memories of camping in the woods :)

While execution was perfect, I wish they would dare more with the dishes and will add more imagination. I think they could handle the task with success.

I would love to come back again in the future.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Sharfshtein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg Spreitzer, Owner at Loca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Dear Sharfshtein, thank you very much for the great review. We are very happy to read, that we brought a new taste for you and good memories back. Hope to see you coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loca also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.