We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing country , amazing guide

We had one of our best travel experiences in Iceland with Villi as our guide. It was a pleasure... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2021
Maps732862
awesome trip with Villi!

Villi is the best guide for Iceland. A great time guaranteed. He knows everyone and everyplace... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2021
plightfootnyc
via mobile
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
57
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
57
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lava lodge leg of lamb planning stages hot springs amazing guide an unforgettable experience icelandic culture government tubes adventure glacier jokes company knowledge helicopter geology
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 57 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Villi is an absolutely phenomenal guide - and also just a fantastic human being. We only had 4 days to spend in Iceland, and he really helped us max out the schedule. He kept us away from cliche, tourist traps and showed us "the insider's Iceland." He knows the place like the back of his hand, including all the secret turn offs, back roads, and secluded hot springs. He is wonderfully knowledgeable about the history of the island and all the sagas that capture it. He put together an excellent itinerary for us that balanced natural beauty with great activities. Thank you Villi! We only wish we could have had more time to hang out with you!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Pawel_z_Krakowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

I was introduced to VIlli by a large, global business network which has the highest standards and has access to the greatest guides around the world. Villi has been the best guide we have used. He can happily tailor any kind of trip you want with any dynamics. We travelled with three well travelled adolescents and are relatively low maintenance -- we prefer simple, local meals, don't need anything in the way of luxury (though Villi can make that happen exquisitely). He instantly understood us, was incredibly engaged and engaging with the kids, taught us a great deal about Iceland (its history, culture, people, how it has evolved, its recent challenges and current rise) and astounding topography. He arranged for us to do a separate glacier hike -- one of the great family travel three hours we have ever done -- and toured us to the stunning black beaches and breath taking waterfalls. He knew places to go not overwhelmed by tourists; he ensured we were well fed, watered (and some of the best strawberries I've had in years). He really became in that day a friend. One personal note: he and I had exchanged several emails before I had booked him -- enclyopedic and thoughtful on our trip and our questions, knowing that we were seeking a more affordable guide option. He not only didn't presume our being clients, he presumed we would not be. That is Villi as a human being -- thoughtful, consummate professional, down-to-earth, concerned about one's appreciation of the country he clearly loves so much. He is worth every dime. We will always use him again when blessed to return.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank CMPSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Villi is great to work with!! He took our group to a fantastic spot for lunch- one we would have never found on our own- and then on to tour the Reyka Distillery. He took care of all the details perfectly. His personality and charm is fantastic. It was more like spending the day with a friend showing us around than being "on a tour". We highly recommend Villi to take care of your travel needs- you won't be disappointed!!

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank kr750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

We spent 3 incredible days with Villi who was a pleasure to spend so much time with. In addition to many gorgeous sites and scenery, he took us to more unusual places like a huge greenhouse where tomatoes are being grown; we were able to eat them in every imaginable and delicious form in the adjoining restaurant! Villi was consistently upbeat and flexible with our changing wishes and alter plans to cope with changing weather. He was truly a fantastic guide!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I came to Iceland from the states and Villi and his hospitality happened to be the best part of our trip. Not only was he hilarious and made us laugh, he was warm and super accommodating. We ended up being 25 minutes late for his pick up, and Villi didn't mind or cause a fuss. He actually bought us waters at a gas station and was the best in describing his home country. Any questions we had, he answered honestly. He even dropped us off at the blue lagoon as opposed to taking us back to our hotel, which was 45 minutes out of his way. This guy rocks!!!! Villi we will miss you! Thank you for everything!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank anisecatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews