We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, unfriendly atmosphere”
Review of Wok On

Wok On
Ranked #47 of 90 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Price range: US$12 - US$16
Description: Wok On is an Asian fast food restaurant You can build your own meal, and then it is woked in front of you. The Wok On menu guidelines are healthy and fresh ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Wok On is an Asian fast food restaurant You can build your own meal, and then it is woked in front of you. The Wok On menu guidelines are healthy and fresh ingredients.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Love the food and the place in general, in all the locations. But they really need to do something about their staff. I've been a customer for years and It's like I'm bothering them with ordering, nobody smiles or welcomes you or even looks you in the eye, and they hand you things without saying anything. They could just as well have self-service. I don't know if it's the managements fault or they just don't bother teaching their staff. I've literally not bothered coming few times because the service is so unfriendly.
But again, the food is always good and I recommend this place to anyone, just don't expect anything else.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank plutokaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2020

What a shame - even if you choose to eat in at their small WOK ON outlet in Kópavogur and want to refuse take-away to reduce waste, they serve all food and drinks only in one-way disposable containers. That's a real disappointment. The chef was very busy talking with their friends on the phone while preparing our meal and the cashier was busy with playing on his mobile phone. How about some efficiency by letting those bored guys wash proper dishes while there are no customers??? Sorry, but can't understand this concept in 2020, where everyone is talking about sustainability.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank just_a_reviewer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2020

Called in for our evening meal. Delicious food, friendly service and reasonably priced.
Option to choose a preset meal or build your own from the menu options.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Anne Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

After a long day of travelling we wanted something quick, fresh and not too expensive.
We stumbled upon this place walking down the street from our hotel.

They had an English menu which is really helpful. You can make your own dish (pick broth, noodles, meat & vegetables) or you can pick one of their set menu dishes. We chose a set dish. You order and pay at the counter, then you pick a table and the food is brought to you.

The food is cooked behind a glass screen next to the counter and the staff were friendly. There's free water readily avaliable. It was a great quick eats.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NikkisaRiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2019

Obviously some changes have been made because there was an English menu available. In common with many places in Iceland the service is casual. Find a table, go the counter and place your order and tuck into a huge bowl of freshly cooked hot food. What else do you want? Good value for money too.
So impressed that people in Iceland don't roll their eyes if you ask for water! It would never happen in London!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank MarkieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok On also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Wok On? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.