We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vellir
Nearby Hotels
Viking Village Hotel(Hafnarfjordur)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road(Hafnarfjordur)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Smari(Kopavogur)
US$143
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arctic Hotel(Reykjavik)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
56
63
32
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
63
32
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantblue lagooncorner roomthe busmodern hotelabout half an hournorthern lightsbreadbonus grocery storehot scrambled eggsgorgeous countryflight was cancelledfree hot drinkssofa beddecent sizelarge tvcorrect change
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are tiny, but at least clean; however they do not even provide soap or shampoo. The location is horrible - hotel is located one hour by bus from Reykjavik and 20 minutes by taxi which costs over 60 dollars (twice more to the airport). The breakfast is fresh at least and the staff is really nice, except one girl from night shift and someone considered as manager - horribly rude. Definitely not reccommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariviest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

Convenient hotel on the road to the airport around 10km to downtown. Simple and efficient rooms and bathroom. The hotel has a big free car park. Breakfast is a small buffet with hot dishes (eggs, bacon and sausages), cold cuts and fresh fruits. Friendly and efficient front desk.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank stefqatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Vellir while on vacation. The hotel was well located in relation to many interesting sites, but as with most spots in Iceland, it is adviseable to have a rental vehicle to get around. Buses and cabs can be expensive.

The included breakfast is filling and, if you fill your thermos with coffee before heading out, it will last you well through lunch.

There is a Bonus grocery store within walking distance and you can reduce restaurant costs by picking up snacks, sandwich meats and buns. There is also a wonderful coffee and pastry shop beside the grocery store.

The host that we spoke to the most during our stay was Oli. He was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about all things Icelandic.

You'll have a great time.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We were surprised at the value of the hotel compared to the prices in Reykjavik We were flying from Keflavik airport the next morning and the hotel is about 30 minutes way so well located The rooms were a good size and very comfortable The breakfast is buffet and is good also

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

My wife and I have stayed at The Vellir many times. It's always clean and comfortable. Great room, super shower, comfortable beds, and a nice breakfast. But it's the staff that I want to compliment this time. We were there in February 2018 and the day we were supposed to check out and fly home we got hit with really nasty weather and all flights were canceled for 2 days. The Hotel was completely booked.Not only were they able to accommodate us but were able to keep us in our original room. ( thank you so much Oliver ) also thanks to Stina and Alina for putting us in the room I requested with our original reservation. The Vellir is a nice place to stay but it's the staff that make it great. Thanks again Joseph and Adriana H.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews