We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amuri Museum of Workers' Housing
Save
Review Highlights
Authentic experience

This block of wooden buildings showcases the working-class lifestyle and history. The museum area... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2020
Mikael F
,
Helsinki, Finland
Insight into C19 workers lives

This museum is located in a block of workers cottages preserved from the C19. It brings to life how... read more

Reviewed June 9, 2019
bhtripadv
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 115 reviews
  
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
67
45
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
45
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 115 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Great little museum, well thought through. A chunk of Finnish social history. Lots of nice activities for little people too. Recommended.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The museum takes you through time from the 1880s to 1970s telling the story of how life for workers in Tampere has changed. The houses have been furnished and each room has a description of who lived there (in English as well as Finnish) creating a very rich picture of the lives they led. There was a party of primary age local children there when we visited so it is obviously suitable for all ages.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

This museum block of workers' homes in Tampere has nine house in their original places. It has placards on each room in each house that tells the stories giving examples of residents who may have lived there before. This gives a good idea of the history of the place. It was interesting to see how the houses and all the furniture and contents of the house developed through the almost one century, from very simple rooms shared by many people to larger rooms with less, more elaborate furniture and even finally an indoor toilet. There is a lot in each room to see. Besides homes, there was a sauna, bakery, general shop and shoemaker's shop. There is also a building with a cafe offering pastries, tea, coffee and soft drink. It has a good number of tables and chairs in areas that give you the feeling of being cozy and/or able to be in separate rooms.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jksmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit here. The fictional family stories at each house really brought the exhibits to life. I must be getting old as my age group is now included in museum tours as exhibits, I thought I'd manage a few more years before I became officially ancient. I found the tour was two houses too long, but that's just my opinion. Nice way to spend a couple of hours.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank briancO3356CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

This museum is situated in former housing for workers at the Finlayson factory, which was formerly one of the most important manufacturing plants in Scandinavia.

Dating back to the late 19th century, these simple wooden houses provide a window into the living conditions of workers of the period. Even better, it has been meticulously decorated with period furnishings, giving a very good view of the very spartan life common people lead at that time. Often just a bed and a few basic items for cooking and working are found in these rooms.

The museum also shows how living conditions improved for people over the decades, with radios, record players and other luxuries slowly appearing. This museum makes a really good contrast with the palaces of the European tourist circuit.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank camsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews