We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers beyond brilliant ”
Review of Cafe Sidewalk

Cafe Sidewalk
Ranked #140 of 556 Restaurants in Aarhus
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American, European, Danish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtbyen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate in this place by accident having just gone out for an evening walk intending to get a bite to eat but having no idea where. Aarhus appears to have an over abundance of places serving burgers. Maybe it’s because they do them really well if this cafe is typical!
Firstly we were greeted and seated by a very helpful waiter who spoke excellent English and helped us with the Danish menu translation! (We we’re doing ok with google translate but it’s always nice to get a recommendation!) Between us we had the gourmet burger and chicken burger meals. Both were voted as probably the best we’d eaten anywhere! Roasted new potatoes were a nice change from chips and the spicy mayo on the side was amazing.
Unusually I had a dessert of zucchini cake. Which was a bit like carrot cake and really good.
The bill was quite pleasant. With the place being situated by the water I expected it to be more expensive.
I would definitely return if I am back in Aarhus again.

Thank Charlotte1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Sidewalk, Chef  at Cafe Sidewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

hello charlotte
We are incredibly pleased with your fine review. We highly support service and good food at good prices. We hope to see you again.
greetings cafe sidewalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Ok service
Food came quick
Nachos had to much cheese on them
Felt like it was half cheese and half nachos
No good

Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Sidewalk, Chef  at Cafe Sidewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Hello thanks for your review. we are glad you liked our service and your food arrived quickly. around your nachos. we bring a lot of cheese to our nachos because that is what our guests mostly want. if you come back and want less cheese at nachos. just tell our servant. mvh cafe sidewalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

I'm not used with the cafe burger lunch type I kept finding in Aarhus, but here I had some really good meals. Cozy place, friendly staff.

Thank Catalin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Sidewalk, Chef  at Cafe Sidewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


hi catalin.
Thank you very much for your sweet words. hope a lot of see you again. greetings cafe sidewalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

What's not to like? The young staff are polite, quick, responsive and alert (not that common in my experience in Denmark). The food is plentiful but not heavy; fresh and tasty. It is simple and extremely unsophisticated (deliberately so!) The seafood salad hit the spot!. Of course, the real reason to visit this place is to sit, eat, drink - and watch others! It started raining but sat close to the cafe entrance, the cover was more than adequate. It is not the most comfortable place to be - but hey, what do you want? Convenience or opulence?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephengreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

this is a crowded strip of bars and restaurants by the water and the menu was loaded with tasty ideas ... we watched the day and people go by ... enjoyed the local beer and our food ... service was good but who was in a hurry ... the day was beautiful as was the town and the people ... thins a happening area and a good place to enjoy a sandwich or salad

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cosmiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sidewalk also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Cafe Sidewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing