We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
63
45
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
45
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings the river the main square the hotel staff old mansion included breakfast hotel is located the owner charm century antiques town books greek costa treasure bicycles
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

To start with the good things, I must say the building housing the hotel is stunning, its position really central, the staff genuinely polite and helpful and the room very clean. Also breakfast is basic but with good quality products. Bed mattress was fine, towels new and clean, pillows fine as well. Furthermore there are books to read around if you have forgotten yours! Why did I rate it with three stars only then? Because the room we were staying at , room 102 and for which we paid 75EU per night , is sized for single and not double room. There is literally no space for two bags, no place to sit but on the bed or at the desk but then the second person can not move around. We asked for a room facing front but what is the use of it if you can not stand in front of the window and look outside because the bed reaches the window? Also the bath is made for one and the door does not even open. Second thing is that we were assured there is parking space at the hotel but that turned out to be a few parking spaces oposite the hotel on the side of the road ,not more that 8 for 22 rooms. As you can imagine not once in three days we were able to park there and finding a parking space proved to be a difficult task. We had to leave the car too far away, which could be ok if you know it but not otherwise. Finally the heating in the room came from the airconditioning, which was noisy and we had to turn it off to sleep. Luckily the room was pretty hot during the day as we had the a/c on during daytime , so we were not cold. To make a long story short, If we had a normal sized double room I would rate it higher definately.

Room Tip: Ask before reservation about the size of the room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank petra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Visiting Trikala? There is no better choice for your staying. With more than a 100 years of history, it is as quaint and alluring as centrally located. Major politician & theater stars of the past century, were hanging out on these premises whenever they visited Trikala. More than that, only little things changed all those years. The ownership is one. Owned by a wonderful family it is as welcoming as it gets! When we arrived they helped with the luggage, a hot tea welcomed us into our room and when we decided to stroll around, they provided bicycles to enjoy the city tour. Now imagine.Premises decorated with past century trends, a most welcoming family, an ok room and a multi-star breakfast! More than a window to a past century the Panellinion makes hotel stars to dim. If impersonal 5stars don't ring any bells this little cozy hotel is a perfect choice!

Room Tip: prefer a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanosMatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We booked this hotel to stay in and around Trikala for 4 days. We had an excellent experience! Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent for us - it was at the back of the hotel and that meant it was really quiet. The breakfast was included and was very good - Costa who works the bar restaurant is a real character but vey attentive without being "in your face". The owner went out of his way to talk to us and make sure everything was ok - he even carried my wife's suitcase to the taxi when we left. The hotel is in an excellent location to explore this wonderful city - walking distance everywhere. Also just half an hour from the amazing Meteora monasteries . We certainly recommend it. The building is old but in superb condition with amazing high ceilings.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank bevandvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The Hotel Panellinion is a small traditional old building full of antiques high ceilings and periodic charm, yet blends with modern bathrooms and well appointed rooms. It is situated right in the central square. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. we had an evening meal which was very good and reasonably priced. The included breakfast was plentiful and also excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

The Hotel Panellinion is a lovely little hotel in Trikala. It is in an old mansion type building. Each room is unique with antique furnishings and very high ceilings that give the rooms an expansive sense. Located in the main square of a Trikala it is a perfect place to explore the town and nearby Metorea. The staff could not be more friendly and make you feel like part of their family.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank warrioreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews