We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
108
63
4
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
63
4
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church bells old town hot and cold choices hotel is located within walking distance ktel bus station clean bathroom excellent breakfast great hotel visiting chania coffee machine would stay here again ideal location short stay loved this hotel small balcony living room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

It’s all been said in previous reviews: Elia Betolo is a great choice for Old Town Chania. The hotel is perfectly located at the edge of Old Town, just a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of the harbor area and a few minutes from the busy New Town. We were upgraded to a two-room suite, which was awesome. The décor is modern and comfortable. Bed was American king with great linens, living room had sofa, stuffed chair, tables, lamps and a Keurig type coffee maker. AC worked fine, but note it operates with a remote. Both rooms had balconies. Bathroom was small, but the modern rain forest shower was amazing. Towels were large and soft and amenities were plentiful. Nice closet area with safe and small fridge. Daily housekeeping kept things fresh and clean.

Breakfast was plentiful and hot items varied daily. The weather was nice so we enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony. The reception area is tiny, but there is a comfortable lounge on the first floor with books and games.

The Old Town area around the hotel is full of exciting streets and alleys to explore. The City Market is literally steps from the hotel, as are many unique shops along with typical tourist haunts. Lots of history in Chania, too.

One tip for the hotel: Because traffic is not permitted in the old town, the taxi will have to drop you off about 500ft from the hotel. We were fortunate our taxi driver knew the hotel and pointed us in the direction, but there is no big signage like we’re used to in the USA and we almost missed it. Right outside the hotel entrance is a tree with a wooden bench built around it and an outdoor café seating area with blue table covers. Probably best to contact the hotel prior to arrival for specific directions.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MERW869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia H, Elia Hotels Group at Elia Bettolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear MERW869 , we are happy to hear that you lived a wonderful experience with our services and the comfort we offered you.Thank you for your feedback and your kind words.We hope to see you again in the future.
Elia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop in a trip to Grece. Clean, modern and good location boutique hotel in Old Town Chania. I stayed for the days and I enjoy our stay. If you are looking for a good hotel, good location and good price this can be an option.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Marimardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia H, Elia Hotels Group at Elia Bettolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Marimardm,
Thank you for your feedback we hope to have the honour to welcome you again.
Elia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

- I wish we're given better instructions on hotel location. All our reservation papers said was: "Bertolo, old town". Try to find that while walking through narrow streets, like a labyrinth, carrying heavy bags!
- Hotel reception is very basic
- Room is great
- Safe wasn't working, staff came to the room very quickly to fix it
- Beautifully decorated
- Right in the city center
- Breakfast was very good, lots of variety
- Nice shower
- Comfortable bed
- Shutters make the room nice and dark for a good sleep
- Private, we could not hear noises from other rooms
- Since we didn't know where the hotel was, it was very challenging to drive through heavy traffic and find somewhere to park. We ended up picking a parking lot that ended up costing us $25 the next morning! Better directions would have been very helpful.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WindowSeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia H, Elia Hotels Group at Elia Bettolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear WindowSeats,

We are deeply sorry that you could not find the hotel.We appreciate your review and your impressions during your stay and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Elia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Nice hotel in the centre of Chania's Old Town and close to the Venetian harbour. Rooms are clean and modern with really good beds. We had a small balcony facing the "leather street", maybe next time we will ask for a room on the top floor. Excellent breakfast, nice terrace. Friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsloBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia H, Elia Hotels Group at Elia Bettolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear OsloBarb , thank for your nice and positive feedback.
You are always more than welcome back to our hotel. It will be an honour for us to have you again in your possible future stay in Crete.
Kind regards,
Elia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

In the heart of town and very close to the old harbour,Lighthouse,amazing cafes and lanes and lanes of beautiful shopping.
The Market Place few meters away was a great experience too.
Just walk out of the hotel and you are in the midst of activities.The churches and Synagogue are all walking distance.
Special thanks to Stella for her help and appreciate her interaction with the guests

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rashmigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews