We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
126
52
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
52
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two brothers greek night pool area lovely receptionist nice hotell the bus his brother beach resort a family run hotel golden beach hot dog sausages hotel owner greek dancing give advice hotel is situated hotel is fantastic the breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Located about a 40 minute walk away from Chania town which was not a problem for us as we enjoy walking. However should you need transport the bus stops right outside of the hotel.
The room was modern with a fridge for drinks etc. balcony and a very large bed. The Room was snug but as you do not spend much time in your room this was not a problem for us. We believe that one bedroom apartments are available but not available for the date we wanted. We have never stayed anywhere so clean, the towels were changed every day and the room cleaned, with bedding being changed every three days. The whole hotel was spotless and the staff were amazing especially Chrysthanthis on reception and Vangelis the waiter/barman. The owners Niko and Andreas were on hand every day and always happy to help and give advice on restaurants and places to visit etc. The continental breakfast was very plentiful and fresh with a good choice.
We had meals at the hotel on a few occasions and found it to be very good. The pool area and the walkways were well kept and again very clean, with very comfortable sun loungers and umbrellas were plentiful which was welcome at the heat of the day. The pool was also large enough to have a good swim if you so desired and great just to cool down.
There is a supermarket about 6 min walk away and nice beaches about 10 min walk.
The local buses to Platanius and Stalos etc stop outside the supermarket.
You get everything you could expect from a small family run hotel, the welcome we recieved was second to none, with all the personal touches from the staff. Andreas organised a trip for us to Balos and even gave us a beach umbrella to take, to get out of the midday sun, what a fabulous day we had.
We would highly recommend this hotel, but unfortunately they have parted company with TUI now so booking from the uk for next year will be difficult.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

What a wonderfull place and nice hotel! Nikos and Andreas are true gentleman making my stay here for 2 weeks really pleasant! Good food, clean rooms and friendly staff makes this place a real jewel! Thanks for everything!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank KingpinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Kedrissos is a family-run hotel owned by brothers Andreas and Nikos. I rate this review with 5 stars as it is very hard to fault Kedrissos. It has a friendly atmosphere with mostly a more mature customer base. I believe Kedrissos are not going to be using Thomson next year so that they can continue to employ all their long-serving members of staff, but you can book directly with them.

ROOM:
The room we stayed in overlooked the small car park and sadly some run down looking buildings; it wasn't an attractive view but it was quiet and why stay on the balcony when you can go explore? The room was fairly small but there was room enough and the twin beds pushed together (with a very comfy memory foam topper) made for a comfortable room. The bathroom had a typical shower cubicle set into an alcove. The floor can get a little wet but the cleaners do a great job every day. The bathroom had a hairdryer wired in which was handy. I used one of the blankets to boost up my pillow on the first night and the cleaners spotted this and next day provided us with extra pillows without saying a word. Overall a clean, comfy, straightforward hotel room, not luxurious but of a high standard for the star rating.
It is a quiet hotel, the only noise we experienced was the occasional person closing their door too loudly (which you can get anywhere) and some slight noise on Greek night but this quietened down before midnight.

STAFF:
Everyone at Kedrissos was lovely and happy to give advice. Andreas in particular gives good recommendations for what to do - on a rainy day, he persuaded us to hire a car and drive through the mountains to the south where the weather would be better. If you want to know a good route to take to see beautiful scenery and Crete's famous kri kri goats, just ask Andreas. The brothers are friendly and outgoing but not overbearing. I would say just enough coaxing us shy British people out of our shells and encouraging us to make the most of our trip.

FOOD:
The breakfast was self-serve buffet in a breakfast room that overlooks the sea. Breakfast is a generous choice of bread, scrambled eggs (with tiny bits of tomato in), mini hotdog sausages, cold hardboiled eggs, cold meats, cheese slices, feta, cucumber, tomato, olives, yoghurt, honey, a selection of cereals, jams and spreads, coffee, tea, apples, pears, orange juice and apple juice...and some lovely chocolate cake and nutella filled mini donuts. It is the same selection every day but plenty to choose from.

Food served at the bar was reasonably priced and the usual Greek hotel snack bar food (omelettes, pizzas, souvlaki, burgers, moussaka etc). We ate there a couple of times and the quality was pretty good (the souvlaki was delicious)
The Greek night was excellent, with a generous range of traditional food on offer, a Greek singer and entertainment from the owners as well with Andreas persuading a lot of women to try Zorba dancing and then managed to persuade quite a few men to do a comical display with their shirts off (about as '18-30' as the mood ever got)
After an evening meal, you can expect to be given some homemade honey raki. This is the local spirit most restaurants serve for free after a meal and usually raki is too strong for me but the sweetness of the honey made Kedrissos's raki go down a little more easily!

LOCATION AND TRANSPORT:
Our coach transfer took a bit over half an hour's drive from Chania airport.
The hotel is situated about 25-30 minutes walk from Chania and it is possible to walk in via a beach path part of the way for a more scenic route. It's close by to a supermarket which has everything you could need, and a mini market. Otherwise it's not in a particularly touristy spot. Though it doesn't have the best views, it is ideal if you want a quiet location that's not so tucked away you can't get to places. There is a beach (Aptera) an easy 10 minute walk away - this is a good place to go for a swim and has a nice amount of shallow water. Sunloungers were 5 euros for two, for a whole day.
When we went (late Sept 2017) you could catch a bus into Chania centre for 1.20 euros. As with other Greek islands, they don't have such a thing as a return ticket, so you pay the same for your return journey as you do for the outbound trip. You can buy tickets for the Chania bus at reception. The buses into Chania are fairly frequent, maybe 3 per hour (no timetable is published, just wait at the stop for number 15 or 21). We got a bus from Chania to Heraklion and then onto Knossos - if you do this, it is about 4 hours of travelling each way and for us it cost about £35 euros each just for travel. Another day Andreas arranged a hire car for us which was about 40 euros for a day (plus petrol) and we went to the south of the island for the day. We only had to drive through town briefly (got a tad lost) and then it was fairly easy roads. The views in the mountains are spectacular. Kedrissos and Chania in general are well situated for exploring western Crete.

POOL:
We didn't have brilliant weather when we went to Crete and I missed my opportunity to use the pool, but it was clean, with ample sunloungers conveniently pointing to the east. The pool was a good size.

CHANIA:
Obviously this is outside of the hotel's control but if you would like to know some things about the local area...Chania is an attractive harbourside town. The newer parts outside the Old Town area are as you'd expect, less attractive but it is a safe feeling area. The harbourfront has a lot of restaurants serving the usual mix of traditional and tourist food, but for better value for money I'd recommend going back from the harbour one or two streets. One place we found, To Xani, was particularly good and deserves a review of its own. Chania has a few companies offering glass bottom boat trips (we took a trip for 10 euros each where a snorkel-diver went under the boat to feed fish - no exotic fish but entertaining) and you can also get a bus tour of Chania and the nearby military cemetery at Souda (for 15 euros per person) Chania is a large town with lots of shops, some typical tourist fare and some more mainstream retailers.

All in all a good hotel and town to visit!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here for a week in September 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed our week's holiday in the Chania region.We had planned for a fairly lazy holiday and the hotel location helped enormously as we were able to stroll down to Aptera beach each day,lounge on the beach,swim,take coffee and lunch at the new beach club and generally enjoy ourselves.In the evenings we'd either walk to Chania or buy bus tickets from reception and then ride into Chania.We'd have a drink and people watch before dinner then eat at one of the restaurants Andreas,the hotel owner recommended,before taking a taxi back to the hotel.[5-7euros].Once back we'd have a nightcap and discuss the day with friends in the pool bar.There was always an interesting mix of nationalities including Swedes,Danes,Germans,Greeks of course,Finns and Bulgarians[?].
The hotel is very clean and well appointed and consists of two bedroom blocks either side of the pool area.Breakfast is served from the first floor buffet and is a fairly simple affair of good breads,cereals,boiled and scrambled eggs,mini sausages,cheese,ham salami and fruit.Not the best as there's no bacon!!!The downstairs bar and kitchen offers all the drinks you could ever need dispatched by Vangelis the mercurial waiter.The food ranges from toasted sandwiches to risottos and meats.We went via Thomson whom we were told are to stop using this hotel which,if true,would be a shame as it is really very,very good.

Room Tip: best sea views are from the innermost bed block
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We Never return anywhere!!...but we did. This Hotel and it's staff are totally amazing. We already feel like old friends after just 2 years. This is a truly special hotel in a really special location. We will be back again and again. Thanks to all the team.

Dave and Rachel x

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews