We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, but not great either”
Review of Vassilenas

Vassilenas
Ranked #79 of 2,773 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$69
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the oldest restaurant in Athens, the legendary "Vassilenas" restaurant, where the likes of Winston Churchill, Sophia Loren and many others have dined. After 96 years in our original location near the Pireaus port, in 2016 we moved to central Athens, close to the Hilton Hotel. Our captivating new "home", designed by acclaimed Greek architects Maria Kokkinou and Andreas Kourkoulas is ready to welcome you serving creative Greek cuisine with quality ingredients and using modern culinary techniques in a unique environment.
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I've been in this restaurant twice, and it has been sort of up and down for me. The wait staff is very friendly and accommodating, and always ready to explain the dishes. For one of my visits, about a year ago, the food was excellent. For the second, it was good until the main dish, lamb, arrived. The meat was underdone and so riddled with gristle that I had to leave around half of it on the plate (with what I could eat cut off and consumed). Lamb is usually a specialty in Greece, so this was pretty disappointing. It's still probably worth a try, and the restaurant itself is beautiful, but if I go back I'll stick with fish, which the Greeks do better than anyone.

1  Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

lovely environment, creative mediterranean cuisinne with great balance among ingredients and combinations and a very kind service.
Great wine list as well

Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Vassilenas has a long tradition in Greek culinary history. This new place in central Athens offers an excellent combination of some of its most well known dishes and new, amazing recipes with top-quality Mediterranean ingredients. A great wine list too. Very Professional, excellent service and friendly staff. Overall, for Mediterranean food, Vassilenas is one of the best restaurants in town.

Thank IraPapado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The food was splendid and the atmosphere unique! We enjoyed so much the seafood dishes that we had as starters! The “taramosalata” was one of the best we have tasted ever, and also I have to mention the very good wine list

Thank siamvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Poor service. Went through 2 baskets of bread and had to complain in order for our order to arrive. Food was mediocre and very expensive for the quality and long wait. Big let down. Would not recommend it. There are much better restaurants in Athens don't waste your time and money.

1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THANASSIS_VASSILENAS, Owner at Vassilenas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Helen
this being your first review, you are probably not yet familiar with how to be more constructive in using the platform.
We would expect you to be more concrete in your comments. This would make your review more credible to other travellers and help us improve.
Unfortunately you are not giving any detail about when you visited what you ordered and why you did not like your food. We always try to accommodate unsatisfied clients when something is brought to our attention but we do not seem to have any record of complaint from your part. Unfortunately, we do not even have a way to verify if and what went wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vassilenas also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Vassilenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing