We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
230
383
108
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
383
108
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomgreat location for visitingbooked a standard roomsao bento train stationwithin walking distancecoat hangersreception staff were very helpfulbath showermini bartea making facilitiesbatalha squareenjoyable stayclerigos toweruphill walkthe main shopping areahomeless peoplequiet area
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very good. The room was spacious and clean with a view on the square. See pictures.

The breakfast was delicious and had a very large variety of food and drinks.

Opposite the hotel is Tramline 22. This takes you though the old city center.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank gillissg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure p, General Manager at Mercure Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest gillissg,
Thank you very much for your review and evaluation.
We hope to see you soon at Mercure Porto Centro.
Best regards,
Rui Cruz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I stayed here recently for 2 nights. The room is a good size, and is quiet. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very good, central location.

The buffet breakfast (not included in the room price) is very good - the only problem with breakfast is that the breakfast room isn't big enough to accommodate individual guests and tour groups at the same time, and the hotel seems to be popular with tour groups so you should bear this in mind if you're thinking of having breakfast at the hotel.

It's also possible to have dinner in the hotel restaurant (and the view if excellent) but the menu is rather limited.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure p, General Manager at Mercure Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest WorldTraveller1313,

Thank you for letting us know how you feel following your recent stay with us. There are quite a few things to pick up from your review and I will certainly discuss those with the team.Thank you again for your review, and, if you decide to return to Porto, I would love to have the opportunity to have you with us again so do not hesitate to contact us and it will be our pleasure assisting you to organize this new journey.

Sincerely,

Rui Cruz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Flew into Porto from the United States and easily found our way to the hotel by the city Metro stopping at the Sao Bento Metro Station. A short uphill walk about 10 minutes. This hotel sits above the Sao Bento train station but you would never know it unless you could see it from your window. Super quiet area and little to no traffic near the hotel.The staff was extremely helpful in printing out train schedules for us and recommending places to eat, even going as far as making reservations for us. The room was large and comfortable with good bedding . The hotel also has a very nice, large bar area for sitting after a day of sightseeing .

Room Tip: Our room had A/C and light blocking slider for the window and the windows are noise deafening.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 682toma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure p, General Manager at Mercure Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear 682toma,
Thank you very much for your review and evaluation.
We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay and visit to Porto.
We hope to see you soon at Mercure Porto Centro.
Best regards,
Rui Cruz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Small room, good location. OK breakfast. Moderate price. However, they damaged my rental vehicle when they moved it. I have contacted them about this, but have not received any resolution about this problem.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure p, General Manager at Mercure Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Mr. James O’Connor,

Thank you for your message and review.

As i already informed by email and by personal message, i would like to inform that the reported damage was not caused by us or produced by our team. Also, if I may suggest, the problem should have been reported at the day and time of departure, so we could manage to help solving the problem, and not the day after your departure.

I remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

Rui Cruz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Situated in the old town, beside the main shopping area. Hotel is modern with good facilities. Room was large with plenty of space and good air conditioning. Some free drinks supplied daily in room. Breakfast was nice, with a large selection of gold and hot food.

Taxi from airport was approx. 30 euros, and close to main rail, tram and metro lines.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank John1965_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure p, General Manager at Mercure Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and evaluation.
We want to improve our services always and your opinion will help us to achieve that.
We hope to see you soon at Mercure Porto Centro.
Best regards,
Rui Cruz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews