We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel do Terco(Barcelos)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas do Rio Barcelos(Cossourado)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagoeira Hotel(Barcelos)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa dos Assentos(Barcelos)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Bway Guest House(Barcelos)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art'otel Barcelos(Barcelos)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
66
13
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini barthree nightsgames roomquintahosttennispoolcourtgroundsbeautyfestivalfarmaugustcamino
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We and another couple shared one of the apartments for three nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we drove in, we knew we'd found the right spot to spend a quiet few days in the country - the views were lovely, and everywhere on the lovingly landscaped grounds we found delicious fruit to eat. The service throughout our stay was absolutely perfect. Catarina was there for everything we needed, and was very friendly and professional while respecting privacy. The accommodations were charming and in excellent condition, and were plenty warm despite the chilly weather during our stay. Breakfasts were lovely every day, and one night we enjoyed a superb dinner, made largely from produce of the quinta and other nearby farms. The area is perfect for casual strolling, and for those with a car, it's an easy drive to Porto, Viana do Castelo, Paneda-Geres, and everything else in northern Portugal.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfim S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Quinta de Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hello there.
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves while staying with us, and thank you for your feedback.
It was great to have you all here, we you will be missed.
Hope to see you again some day.
Catarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

On a recent tour of north Portugal we stayed three nights at this traditional quinta. Unfortunately our room had a number of maintenance issues- three bulbs were either missing or blown, the recently replaced wooden floor boards were uneven and bouncy and the bathroom flooded every time we took a shower due to a perished shower screen seal. The lack of maintenance was apparent throughout the quinta- peeling exterior paintwork, rusting gym equipment, dirty toilets with no soap by the pool. Mini bar wasn't replenished. On the plus side, we had an excellent dinner cooked by the host and the pool was pleasant. With improved maintenance and a greater focus on guest experience this place could be great.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jay78uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We shared a 2 bedroom suite with another couple while on a road trip through Portugal.
Staying here is like living in a palace!
The floor plan and furnishings were amazing
The beds were pretty firm to sleep in and the fridge empty ( no cold drinks or milk ). Our main English speaking contact Kate was absolutely wonderful and the location was central for exploring Barcelona, Pont De Lima etc
Overall I would recommend staying here if you love the idea of feeling like royalty!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Quinta de Malta is a very beautiful, quite, nice place to relax. It's outside of Barcelos about 15 minutes. The train station is Durraes. We spent 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The receptionist Kate was very helpful and also spoke English giving us lots of information that made everything so easy. Our host is an excellent cook and a very warm nice person. We hope to go again.
Mike & Jo

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NorthStar713799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2016

we were at the festival at ponte de lima and came here to sleep. this rural guesthouse is set like a dream in the rural country on top of an hill with lovely views to the valley and surrounded by orchids and gardens. the rooms are big and comfortable. a pity we stayed there only for one night

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank beny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews